Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Spectacular! This is a forgiving recipe. I didn't have shallots or currant jelly so I used 1/3 cup diced onion and some red raspberry jam instead. It was still absolutely wondeful. We like to have an elegant meal at home on New Year's, with all the kids here. We will definitely use this recipe this year. We raise our own meat rabbits and I used one we'd butchered too late yet it came out totally tender. I think this would be a good recipe for wild rabbit as well, because toughness will not be an issue with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Oh My Goodness! This was awesome! I've never made rabbit before & my local meat market had them in as a specialty . This was gourmet! *I would recommend going with a good low sodium bacon, and low sodium boullian b/c it seemed a bit on the salty side*. I'd also add fresh mushrooms the last hour. I served it w/ mashed red-skins and baby glazed carrots (seriously!) The wine I used was Penfolds Shiraz Cabernet. Not only was it perfect for the dish, but a great wine to serve with the meal. Smooth, delicate, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Savard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
My husband raved on this recipe!! It was simple to prepare but has a gourmet flair. The rabbit was tender and the gravy was the bomb! Thank-you Cheryl Gross. Note: I added a few sliced, fresh mushrooms to the gravy before thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Omigosh!!! Five stars aren't enough! I used a young cottontail to make it and hubby and I devoured as much as we could. I used Holly's suggestion of adding mushrooms and made some chunky mashed potatoes and rosemary glazed baby carrots. Using shallow bowls, I put a mound of the potatoes in the center and covered it with the gravy. The carrots were served on the side in small bowls. Absolutely stupendous! Note: the recipe called for adding thyme twice...I added it once with the rosemary. First class, CHERLYLG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe, my first rabbit experience. I followed the recipe until right after cooking the garlic & shallot, at which time I added everything to the crockpot, set it on low, and cooked it for 9 hours. Then I made the gravy as directed and served with oven-roasted potatoes & carrots. We used wild snowshoe hare in the recipe and it turned out melt-in-your-mouth tender. My husband couldn't stop raving about how tender it was. My 4-year old had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEF_AN
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have bacon and used pancetta instead. I followed the recipe directions for preparing the rabbit separately from the shallots, red wine, bouillon and herbs. I then combined it all in a crockpot along with some sliced carrots and quartered mushrooms. I also added more peppercorns than called for in the recipe. The rabbit turned out moist and tender. This is the 2nd time I've made this recipe. The first time I followed the directions and stewed it on the stovetop for 1 1/2 hrs. The crockpot method works just as well. About 1/2 hr before serving, I took out the rabbit and kept it warm in the oven. Then I followed the directions to make the gravy and turned the crockpot on high. Gravy turned out great. Served the rabbit with white rice and sliced French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
A dish fit for a KING! The gravy is to die for. I didn't have currant jelly, so I used grape instead. Also used fresh mushrooms as recommended by another user. Can't wait to try it again with the currant jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was the best rabbit I have ever eaten! I used a wild cottontail rabbit and it turned out so flavorful, moist and tender. I didn't have the boullion granules so I just substituted the water with chicken broth. I also didn't have currant jelly so I used black raspberry jelly. The gravy is SO good. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was a hit! The rabbit came out moist and full of flavor, which left the guests fighting over the last bits. I splurged for some high quality, fresh bacon, which I think added a lot to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
a very delicious recipe. this was my first time cooking or eating rabbit, and it certainly won't be my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States