Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is the first time I've ever eaten rabbit, let alone cooked it. It was absolutely wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, except in the last step where it said to add more thyme to the gravy. I didn't add any more spices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. The rabbit turned out tender, true, but the recipe overall just wasn't that great. The bacon is all stewed and weird in the end and didn't seem to add a lot to the dish. Though it was edible, nobody was nuts about this dish. I'm not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Red wine and peppercorns make an excellent sauce for any wild meat. I use a similar sauce as a gravy for venison and goose; the main difference is that cream is added at the very end to make the gravy. We used this recipe to cook cottontail. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OBERPRILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yum! I'm a novice cook (but able to follow directions). I made this for my bf and I swear he thinks I've been cooking all my life because of this. Thank you, Cheryl! I've never prepared rabbit before but the rabbit turned out amazingly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
i did not care much for this recipe, 2 much bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Followed the directions exactly and it was delicious! Even the kids loved it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful recipe. My husband is not a big fan of red wine cuisines. He LOVES this one. I used chicken instead of rabbit meat. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belgusa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time preparing rabbit, and this easy recipe turned out great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I omit the wine and substitute chicken stock, still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States