Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time preparing rabbit, and this easy recipe turned out great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I omit the wine and substitute chicken stock, still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a wonderful recipie. I have used seedless raspberry jam when I don't have currant and its just as good. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Before I cooked this recipe I read the reviews. It had 22 reviews, all were 5 stars. Now it has 23. I made it exactly according to the recipe with the exception that after browning the rabbit and cooking the shallots and garlic I put it all in a slow cooker for 5 hrs on low. It was delicious and fall off the bone tender. If I had only one chance to impress someone with my cooking, I'd cook this and not worry about it. And I agree totally with AndiSue, the gravy is out of this world. So, take a bow CHERYLG, you're getting a standing ovation here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
The gravy alone makes this recipe worth the effort. My kids (who are very picky) raved about this dish. I used beef broth instead of wine (because I generally don't like the flavor wine adds to dishes). I also substituted red onion and mango-raspberry jam for the shallots and jelly. Even with the alterations, this was DELICIOUS! This is my favorite recipe I've gotten off of allrecipes.com thus far. Thank you so much for sharing!! Even with the alterations, this was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndiSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
My first time cooking rabbit. It was perfect. We served it with a side of potatoes, crusty French baguette to sop up the gravy, and a simple spring greens salad. It brought me back to when I first had rabbit in the South of France. I did add a few mushrooms about an hour in to cooking as the previous women did, because I had some laying around, and it was very good, although I'm sure it would've been great without them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was fantastic! I made it for Easter dinner and my family was very pleased. I didn't have enough "cooking juices" to make the gravy, which was unfortunate. I'm not quite sure why, but regardless... Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Used wild rabbit- it was so tender. I cooked it on low for 3 hours. I didn't have red wine so used 1/4 cup aged balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup water. Can't wait to use red wine next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Will make this again. I added carrots the last half hour. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEF_AN
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have bacon and used pancetta instead. I followed the recipe directions for preparing the rabbit separately from the shallots, red wine, bouillon and herbs. I then combined it all in a crockpot along with some sliced carrots and quartered mushrooms. I also added more peppercorns than called for in the recipe. The rabbit turned out moist and tender. This is the 2nd time I've made this recipe. The first time I followed the directions and stewed it on the stovetop for 1 1/2 hrs. The crockpot method works just as well. About 1/2 hr before serving, I took out the rabbit and kept it warm in the oven. Then I followed the directions to make the gravy and turned the crockpot on high. Gravy turned out great. Served the rabbit with white rice and sliced French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States