Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent dish! I used the mushrooms in the sauce as well, which really helped cut down on the amount of rabbit needed (and helped my wallet)! I served the stew with glazed baby carrots and a root veggie mash including russet potatoes, parsnips and rutabega.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME! Very nice texture and flavor. My husband has had a lot of rabitt in his life, but he says hands down this was the best he'd ever tasted! He even went as far as to say it was better than his mom's! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully! This one's a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Krejchik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe. It was my first time cooking and eating rabbit. We just started raising meat rabbits and decided this would be the first recipe we would try. My husband and son loved it! I did add fresh mushrooms and am glad that I did. We served it over mashed potatoes. When we went to the liquor store and told the man we were making rabbit, he immediately suggested a cheap california cabernet to cook it in which turned out to be perfect. The cooking is slightly labor intensive but if you love rabbit, well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
tasted like chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe three times in the last 6 months. I follow the recipe to a tee and serve with mashed potatoes and a vegetable. My family raves about this every time! Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The red wine made the white rabbit meat look like it was bleeding for half the cooking time. Then, it got a greyish burgandy color and never improved. This was my first time making rabbit and the color of the dish really turned me off. The "ick" factor of the way the dish looked prevented me from enjoying the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This stew was absolutely wonderful. This was my family's first time trying rabbit and we LOVE IT! I did substitute sweet red wine instead of using dry red ( and the gravy was a bit more full bodied) and added some button mushrooms. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Out of this world! We added mushrooms to the gravy, as suggested by other reviewers, and cooked up a wild rabbit that a friend killed for us. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Amazing! Such a delicious dish. I make this when rabbit is in season, but it is such a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is the first time I've ever eaten rabbit, let alone cooked it. It was absolutely wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, except in the last step where it said to add more thyme to the gravy. I didn't add any more spices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States