Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
tasted like chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe three times in the last 6 months. I follow the recipe to a tee and serve with mashed potatoes and a vegetable. My family raves about this every time! Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The red wine made the white rabbit meat look like it was bleeding for half the cooking time. Then, it got a greyish burgandy color and never improved. This was my first time making rabbit and the color of the dish really turned me off. The "ick" factor of the way the dish looked prevented me from enjoying the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This stew was absolutely wonderful. This was my family's first time trying rabbit and we LOVE IT! I did substitute sweet red wine instead of using dry red ( and the gravy was a bit more full bodied) and added some button mushrooms. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Out of this world! We added mushrooms to the gravy, as suggested by other reviewers, and cooked up a wild rabbit that a friend killed for us. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Amazing! Such a delicious dish. I make this when rabbit is in season, but it is such a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is the first time I've ever eaten rabbit, let alone cooked it. It was absolutely wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, except in the last step where it said to add more thyme to the gravy. I didn't add any more spices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. The rabbit turned out tender, true, but the recipe overall just wasn't that great. The bacon is all stewed and weird in the end and didn't seem to add a lot to the dish. Though it was edible, nobody was nuts about this dish. I'm not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Red wine and peppercorns make an excellent sauce for any wild meat. I use a similar sauce as a gravy for venison and goose; the main difference is that cream is added at the very end to make the gravy. We used this recipe to cook cottontail. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OBERPRILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yum! I'm a novice cook (but able to follow directions). I made this for my bf and I swear he thinks I've been cooking all my life because of this. Thank you, Cheryl! I've never prepared rabbit before but the rabbit turned out amazingly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States