Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Easy to prepare, excellent outcome. Think I might add some mushrooms toward the end of the cook time. Not alot of liquid at the end for gravy add some 2%milk to thin things out should have added more or used some thing else to increase liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NREM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Turned out as good as I could have imagined, I am impressed with how tender it is. The gravy is full of depth and flavor. Definitely do not omit the red wine as the flavor is great with the gaminess of the rabbit. Thanks for a perfect recipe to use for cooking rabbit!! p.s. I am not the most experienced chef and I think the recipe is simple enough with a little patience and time...and the boyfriend for once assisted in the cooking process!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very good, introduced my kids to rabbit and they loved it. Followed recipe closely and was not disappointed. Will do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I too dislike the color wine adds, so I went with 2 cups of beef stock and 1&1/2 cup water then added potatoes and carrots. I love this recipe, its very smart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Absolutely brilliant! My husband loves it. It does start out like most of his cooking...Fry a half pound of bacon, reserve meat and use grease. I used this recipe in a rabbit cook off for ST JUDE'S this past Easter weekend and came in third. Not bad for a German dish in the middle of Cajun Country. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was fabulous! I left out the currant jelly, but added a few baby carrots for the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
holy cow!!! this is good!!! It doesn't take that long to prep!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Truely a remarkable dish. I let the rabbit stew for two hours. Used a Cote de Rhone red wine. I replaced the current jelly with Fig jam. Increadible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Have made it 2-3 times and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Hubby wanted me to make this agaiin for our son to try. They go rabbit hunting together and he never eats any. I did add some mushrooms. I think you've got a winner. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States