Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
holy cow!!! this is good!!! It doesn't take that long to prep!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Truely a remarkable dish. I let the rabbit stew for two hours. Used a Cote de Rhone red wine. I replaced the current jelly with Fig jam. Increadible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Have made it 2-3 times and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Hubby wanted me to make this agaiin for our son to try. They go rabbit hunting together and he never eats any. I did add some mushrooms. I think you've got a winner. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was a great recipe for my sons' snowshoe hares he got over the weekend. We added carrots and mushrooms for an even "meatier" stew. I didn't have shallots on hand but used leeks instead. We cooked up some egg noodles to serve the rabbit stew on top. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
First time I have prepared rabbit I did make a few changes but, other then that I followed the recipe to the tee. Did not have shallots so used onion, did not have chicken bouillon so used beef granuals, did not have currant jelly so used grape. Used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the gravy. Since I made changes I rated this a 4 but, should be a 5 because it turned out wonderful!! The gravy is something to die for and I put some aside to use on other recipes. Will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My teenage son made us all stop talking so that he could fully enjoy the meal! I added a cup of chopped crimini mushrooms with the shallots, more water as the sauce thickened and then at the end another splash of wine. I will add more pepper next time. The gravy really makes this dish and it is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is fabulous! Takes a little time, but well worth it. Only thing I would do next time, is double the ingredients to make the sauce (wine, jelly, etc.). We didn't have enough to make the gravy after it simmered. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Phenomenal recipe. We added baby carrots about an hour into the simmering. Turned out terrific, wasn't too difficult, and the meat was so tender and juicy. We will definitely be making this again--and the house smells amazing now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was my first time cooking rabbit, but it won't be the last. This recipe is superb. I followed the recipe exactly until it was time to put the rabbit and bacon back in the pot. Instead I put all into the crockpot and cooked on low for 9 hours. Then I removed the rabbit to keep warm and strained the remaining juice into a pan on the stove to continue making the gravy. (I don't like lumps of bacon or shallots in my gravy). The meat was fall off the bone tender and flavorful and the gravy was one of the best I've tasted. I made mashed potatoes for the rest of the gravy. I will definitely do this recipe again, and might do it with chicken when rabbit isn't available at my market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States