Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Very good orange cake recipe. I bake in a rectangular cake pan and then frost with cool whip mixed with orange zest. The result is simple and good. One batch is enough for a big party, because the flavor is strong and is best eaten in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I've been making variations of this cake for several years now. Try using an orange cake mix or a lemon one...absolutely delicious as well. This is a long-standing favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
THIS IS TOO DIE FOR!!! My mom used to make this recipe, only she does it ever so slightly differently. She uses only 1 oz. of Galliano and 6 oz. of O.J. in the cake mix. She omits the vodka as she says it's a waste, as you can't really taste it because it burns up in the oven. This is truly heavenly! A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is the greatest everyone at work and home LOVE it. Thanks for sharing. Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe. For any banana lovers, I have tried a variation on the recipe. Substituta a banana liquer for Galliano, banana instant pudding instead of vanilla, and an orange/banana/strawberry juice for the OJ. Turns out AMAZING, everyone loved it. Could be done for almost any flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
There seemed to be alot of alcohol in this cake. I thought Five shots of liqour would make this cake taste very strong, but I was wrong. The husband said it was very good, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Very Nice. Hic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF-JEFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is better with the Orange Supreme cake mix. That is what gives it the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This was an awesome cake for adults............the alcohol makes it not very kid friendly. My only complaint is that you have to take out a loan to purchase the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is my mom's favorite, I made it for her birthday. All the adults enjoyed it, but it was not a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States