Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is always a hit with family and friends. The cake is so moist! Highly recommend you try it if you haven't already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good--I used orange cake mix as well. I poured the glaze over it and let it soak in. After trying a slice, I decided to put more glaze over the cake. That put the flavor right over the top. I did omit the vodka from the second glaze. I think this is best refrigerated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
What a great recipe! Direct from 1978, and I still have the recipe tag from the Galliano bottle attached thereto! I turned this recipe over to the best local bakery and they are going to town with a full sheet cake and a full bottle of Galliano to float on top only this time they are sprinkling orange-colored coconut on top for my B'Day Bash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Love this recipe! My mom made it for our birthdays as kids in the 1970s (minus the alcohol in the glaze, of course)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this cake for years with company expected for dinner and it would be gone before we sat down to eat. Recently I made it and accidentally added 5 rather than 4 oz of galliano to the batter along with 2 rather than 1 oz of vodka. It looked and tasted beautiful! Everyone loved it. I did use a bit more conf sugar in the glaze to make it a bit thicker. Absolutely Wonderful! Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love this cake and it is always a hit. It tastes great by itself, but for special occasions I usually serve it with sliced strawberries and slightly sweetened and whipped cream. There is never any leftovers. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Simply delicious love to bake it and share it with family and friends all through the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
How can you make it without the Alcohol?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
A HUGE HIT! This cake was moist and yummy. My mom used to make one similar when I was younger and I haven't had it in years. Since her recipe went missing - I decided to make this one for a party and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinginholland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I just finished my first piece of cake. WOW!!! Just like I remembered from years ago. I did search for a Orange Cake mix. If you go to Duncan Hines web site, customer service will locate you the stores in your area that sell it. Well worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States