Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
So moist and full of flavor but I do have some suggestions. If you can find one, use an orange cake mix. Also, fluid ounces confuse me (are they the same as ounces?) so I used 1/2 cup galliano and 2 tablespoons of vodka in the cake. In the glaze, I did 1 tablespoon of oj, 1 of galliano and 1 teaspoon of vodka. When you're baking you already have the teaspoons out so it's much easier. Also, I do recommend adding the vodka because it gave something to the cake. You know how sometimes you sip a really good cocktail and the alcohol warms you? That's what happened when I took a bite. Wonderful. I highly recommend the cake with the changes I made. Also, for those who would like to try to make the drink, a bartender told me-take a juice glass (tall or short) and fill with ice. Add a shot of vodka, half a shot of galliano and fill to top with orange juice. Stir. You'll find it tastes just like the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
THIS IS TOO DIE FOR!!! My mom used to make this recipe, only she does it ever so slightly differently. She uses only 1 oz. of Galliano and 6 oz. of O.J. in the cake mix. She omits the vodka as she says it's a waste, as you can't really taste it because it burns up in the oven. This is truly heavenly! A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
very tasty.. I used an orange cake mix to add a bit more orange flavor...also added orange zest to cake and glaze. It was great! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I used orange vodka and was a bit heavy handed on that and the Galiano. I also put the excess glaze into the middle of the bundt cake and let it sit over night. The bottom of the cake absorbed most of the extra glaze and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I've been making variations of this cake for several years now. Try using an orange cake mix or a lemon one...absolutely delicious as well. This is a long-standing favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe. For any banana lovers, I have tried a variation on the recipe. Substituta a banana liquer for Galliano, banana instant pudding instead of vanilla, and an orange/banana/strawberry juice for the OJ. Turns out AMAZING, everyone loved it. Could be done for almost any flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
How can you make it without the Alcohol?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is a great cake for an adult party! Try using an Orange Cake Mix, it really adds alittle more flavor. I also like to add a touch of Orange Zest to the Glaze. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is better with the Orange Supreme cake mix. That is what gives it the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could. I DARE you to just eat one piece. My granny made this all the time and I came here looking for the recipe. WOW, there are not words to express how absolutely delish this cake is. I also made it as a "Lemon Poppyseed" cake; use Lemon Supreme cake mix, instant lemon pudding, and 1/2 C lemon juice and 1/2 cup water in place of the alcohol. Mix in a few table spoons of poppyseeds and make the glaze out of lemon juice, grated lemon peel and confectioners sugar. This cake ROCKS like you can't imagine. A real crowd pleaser. And as one other reviewer suggested, bake on 325 degrees for about 55 minutes and it turns out lighter and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States