Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
My husband loved this. I only bought a 5 pound ham and scaled back quite a bit on the brown sugar to about 4 oz. hubby don't like real sweet meats. I also added an onion due to his preference. Served it on Kaiser rolls with potato salad and fresh cut up veggies. He loved it. Took another reviewers suggestion and froze leftovers for hubbys sandwiches for work. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! We had these with coleslaw on the side- I had dill pickles on mine and my mom had horseradish sauce on hers and they were both outrageously good! The possibilities for condiments seem to be limitless- although these sandwiches need nothing else to be awesome. These are great- so easy and HUGE results! (I used a thick cut ham steak instead of a whole ham because there were only two of us for dinner last night.) We're having a birthday party here next weekend and I'm going to make a big pot of these for our guest- this recipe is TOO GOOD to keep to ourselves! Thank you so much for sharing this! UPDATE 1/15/07 I used this recipe 3 times over the holidays for my 'holiday ham' and it was a SMASHING SUCCESS!!!!!! I don't think I'll ever do ham any other way ever again! We even had a repair man here one night who wanted to stay for dinner because it smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Excellent! So tasty and so easy. Sure to become a family favorite. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe is fantastic! It goes great with baked beans on the side. And my husband who almost never has a comment about what he's eating said, "This is really good!", and had a second helping. It's got a subtle sweet & tangy taste to it and it's perfect for after holiday left over hams. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Pretty good the first time around. A bit too sweet though. Had to add some toppings -- pickles and/or cole slaw -- to round out the sweetness. I froze the leftovers for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Loved this! Even family members who hate mustard thought this was great. I put sliced onion on mine and thought I'd died and gone to heaven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is such an awesome recipe! It takes awhile to cook but of course that is why it is a slow cooker recipe:) Once it is done it is very simple to make and fast once the ham is cooked. It tastes so good and has been a real big hit with our family and extended family. This recipe has become a regular recipe for us and is great for anytime. It makes a lot so you can eat it for several days or take it to a carry in! Sure to be a hit anywhere!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Fabulous!!!! So easy to prepare. Went over very well with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is a hit with a busy household that has teenagers coming and going at all hours. I bought those trays of rolls that are in a metal pan, I placed the ham in all of the rolls, placed the rolls back on the pan, tied the plastic cover back up and placed them in the fridge. The kids just help themselves, sometimes eating them cold, sometimes heating them up in the microwave for 15 seconds. They don't care for a bunch of condiments so this recipe works out great! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Everyone who tried this loved it, we used relish the first time as someone sugested then tried dill pickles the second and I would have to say the dill was much better it gave it a sweet and sour taste. I followed the recipe exactly using plain yellow mustard and an 8lb bone in ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States