Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very, Very good recipe! I cooked this one day while I was at work. When I came home, to fix it, the ham was so tender, it fell right off the bone! We invited my in-laws over and we all loved it--even my 2-year old! I did make it another time, but made it with a spiral cut ham this time and it was really hard to shred, but still turned out yummy! I do think the leftovers are a little dry for my tastes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Just not my taste. It came out overly sweet and with a funny texture. We won't be trying these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel_1988

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Cooked a ham and shredded. Made half 'Harvey' and half not. This was OK; not great, but that is likely just personal preference. Maybe my proportions were off, but the flavor of the sauce seemed to dominate, not complement, the flavor of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe that my whole family loves. We've made it several times and just freeze the leftovers for a quick meal for another night. It's easy and doesn't require a lot of ingredients. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Are you kidding me? This is about the best new recipe I have tried in a long time. I used exactly the amount of ingredients listed and it was amazing. Using the hams without the bone made it easy to pull apart and all I had to do was remove the casing at the end. I can't wait to make this over and over again for people who havent had it! Thanks for a great twist on barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These sandwiches are so easy and so good! My family loves them! I made them for my brother and sister in law to eat when they had a baby, and then she asked me to make them for the baptism party, too! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very Sweet, if we had not put the onion and horseradish sauce on the sandwich I don't think we could have eaten them, they were soooo sweet. Won't be fixing this again... just not for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I was only feeding four with this recipe, and so I didn't want to spend the money for a ham still on the bone. I used a Honey Baked Ham instead that was ten dollars less. I did put the ham with a little water in the slow cooker for about 4 hours just to see if I could get the juices flowing, and get a texture similar to a ham with a bone in it. I don't know if I was exactly successful, but I was still pleased with the outcome. I used half spicy brown mustard, and half regular deli mustard. The ham was sweet, and and a lot of flavor without covering up the natural flavors of the ham. I would say if you want the mustard to be stronger reduce the amount of brown sugar. But, the sweet taste was really good. I thought I would want a pickle but I didn't even think about it after one bite. I think for a short cut you could get thicker cut deli ham. Maybe warm for an hour and than maybe shred a little or cut into smaller pieces, and than add the mustard and brown sugar. This is really a step up from a BBQ pork sandwich. A little bit more classy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Sometimes I feel like mixing random ingredients will make this miraculous mingling of flavors, but this was just sweet, mustardy ham. Not bad, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this yesterday and got RAVE reviews from my hubby, son and myself. It was easy and my goodness does it taste good. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have a feeling it will become a staple around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States