Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Are you kidding me? This is about the best new recipe I have tried in a long time. I used exactly the amount of ingredients listed and it was amazing. Using the hams without the bone made it easy to pull apart and all I had to do was remove the casing at the end. I can't wait to make this over and over again for people who havent had it! Thanks for a great twist on barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These sandwiches are so easy and so good! My family loves them! I made them for my brother and sister in law to eat when they had a baby, and then she asked me to make them for the baptism party, too! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very Sweet, if we had not put the onion and horseradish sauce on the sandwich I don't think we could have eaten them, they were soooo sweet. Won't be fixing this again... just not for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I was only feeding four with this recipe, and so I didn't want to spend the money for a ham still on the bone. I used a Honey Baked Ham instead that was ten dollars less. I did put the ham with a little water in the slow cooker for about 4 hours just to see if I could get the juices flowing, and get a texture similar to a ham with a bone in it. I don't know if I was exactly successful, but I was still pleased with the outcome. I used half spicy brown mustard, and half regular deli mustard. The ham was sweet, and and a lot of flavor without covering up the natural flavors of the ham. I would say if you want the mustard to be stronger reduce the amount of brown sugar. But, the sweet taste was really good. I thought I would want a pickle but I didn't even think about it after one bite. I think for a short cut you could get thicker cut deli ham. Maybe warm for an hour and than maybe shred a little or cut into smaller pieces, and than add the mustard and brown sugar. This is really a step up from a BBQ pork sandwich. A little bit more classy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Sometimes I feel like mixing random ingredients will make this miraculous mingling of flavors, but this was just sweet, mustardy ham. Not bad, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this yesterday and got RAVE reviews from my hubby, son and myself. It was easy and my goodness does it taste good. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have a feeling it will become a staple around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very, very good. I made it just the way it says and loved it. I will definately make this again, it would be perfect for family gatherings. The only people who didn't like it were those that don't like sweet ham - believe me it is their loss.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very nice recipe. We spread Mayo on our bread before pilling it high with the yummy ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was pretty tasty! Although, I wasn't feeding a crowd and didn't have all day to cook it so I had to make some adjustments. Since it was just for 2 of us, I used a 1 lb. ham slice. We just added brown sugar and mustard to a skillet and cooked over medium-high for about 20 minutes. Very tangy and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
My husband loved this. I only bought a 5 pound ham and scaled back quite a bit on the brown sugar to about 4 oz. hubby don't like real sweet meats. I also added an onion due to his preference. Served it on Kaiser rolls with potato salad and fresh cut up veggies. He loved it. Took another reviewers suggestion and froze leftovers for hubbys sandwiches for work. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States