Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Here's one more five-star thumbs up for Harveys Ham sandwiches. Fixed it as written. It's delicious with a slice of onion or with a few dashes of your favorite hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is a really different and delicious way to make ham! We made it for our casual Easter today and it was perfect. Based on other reviews, I decreased the amount of brown sugar by about half and the "mustard barbeque sauce" was still perfectly sweet. I did not discard the ham broth after preparing the ham ... it will make a great soup base later!!! It looked/smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These are DELICIOUS sandwiches!! I got a 6 lb ham and didn't have time to cook it for 8-10 hours, so I had it cooking in my crockpot on HIGH for 4 hours, then on LOW for 2 hours. After I shredded it, I put it back in the crockpot with the mustard and brown sugar on LOW for another hour and it was perfect!! Although, the recipe says it serves 24, it didn't seem to make that much. I'd say more like 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Served this for my daughter's birthday party and everyone raved over it. This recipe was so easy, so awesome. Three ingredients, minimal work, super results. Five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This ham recipe is excellent! After tasting the ham, my husband told me that this was the only way he wanted ham fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
We love this recipe!!! It has become a family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
LOVED IT!! Bought a 6.9 lb bone in John Morrell ham that cost about $12. Cooked all night on low with water to the top. Shredded EASILY (bone fell out) after cooling in the morning, added 2 cups of brown sugar (not sure how many cups are 1 lb?) and yellow mustard as directed. Took it to Memorial Day camping and everyone LOVED IT! Thank you for sharing. I may try cutting back even a bit more on brown sugar next time since it is very sweet. I don't want to lose the sweet tangy taste though. We topped with pickled jalapenos and yum! Feeds a crowd and then some and cheap! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Excellent prepared as written! Served with pickles and swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I have used lots of recipes from this site before but have never rated one until now. This recipe is WONDERFUL! I took it to work today and everyone LOVED it. I didn't tell them it had mustard in it until after they ate it. One of my coworkers thought she didn't like mustard until today :). I did cut back the sugar by about 1-2 cups as others suggested and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
OMG These are great! I eat mine with dills pickles. Beware, they are addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States