Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only change we really made was to add some apple juice concentrate to the water it cooked in overnight. Everyone loved it, on rolls or by itself people were in it constantly. Only one person said they thought it was a little sweet, but they also had it on a Hawaiian roll and thought trying it on sourdough would be better for them. Lots of room to play and customize the recipe, could add some cloves, and/or a splash of apple cider, could even add some crushed pineapple if you really like sweet ham. Many options for change and great like it is, definitely will be making it again for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was pretty easy but I think my crockpot overcooked the ham. The hamm was pretty dry. I did not use a full pound of brown sugar just because I was worried about sweetnes. This was good but you must serve it with pickles. It really needs that tangy counterpoint to the sweet mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I didn't change a thing, I thought it was delicious. The boyfriend thought it tasted a bit like hot dogs, but it's not like he didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delish! Both my husband and son loved it, and I loved how easy it was to make! Served on Hawaiian Rolls with a pickle, fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
A yummy quick meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The ham is delicious! After reading other reviews I altered the dressing (1 Cup mustard, 1/2 C brown sugar) and it seemed to be perfect. Not too sweet, not too mustardy. I didn't put the ham and mustard back in the pot to cook together. We used it more as a condiment since we have kids that don't like mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This wasn't anything special to me at all. Basically like squirting honey mustard on shredded ham. The sauce was too sweet for me. Adding a dill pickle to the sandwich helped a lot but I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashmin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My entire family loved it. It goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I like sweet ham and this was WAY TOO SWEET even for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made this for a Christmas lunch and everyone loved it. I will be adding this to my menu for any future parties. I even froze some and it reheated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States