Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Love how quick this is to make. I added some spices so it wasn't so bland since I use vegetable broth. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We had this for dinner and LOVED it! I cooked the onion, celery and zucchini in a little bit of olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I also added a can of rotel tomatoes, fresh cilantro, garlic powder, salt,and pepper for a bit more flavor. It was definitely and healthy and tasty option that will go on the menu rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We had this for lunch on Satuday. I wouldn't say it was great, just okay. I might make up a big batch for canning, but without the celery. I didn't care for the crunch or flavor of it. I also added some herbs, because I knew I wouldn't like it without. I added a bit of fresh red bell pepper because I really like the taste. Also if I make it again I'll try to thicken the broth, because I did find it more soup like, as other reviewers had commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Bland. I was disappointed in the recipe. Thought it very bland (although I did add a little salt and pepper to try to help). My son didn't like; my teen-age daughter said, "Mom, it tastes like something is missing". Following on another reader's suggestion, and not wanting to waste the batch, I added a can of cream of celery soup and simmered a few minutes more, but it still didn't have a memorable flavor. Perhaps if recipe had used various seasonings the broth would have been more flavorful. My husband was out of town last night but I will ask him to try the soup when he returns tonight and if he thinks any differently than the rest of our family I will edit the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Warm, comforting and healthy. I too sauteed the onion, celery carrots in olive oil. (Also added a chopped green pepper to the mix as I need to use it). Used 2 cans of undrained diced tomatoes, additional seasonings and loved it. Very forgiving recipe. I also used chicken from a rotissare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Graham
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We liked this, including my 5 year old. Served it over a little rice. I saved some of the broth...probably a bit over a cup, and put to the side...then added the veggies. Also added cream of chicken and cream of mushroom to make it thicker. Boiled the celery and onion with the chicken before reserving the broth for later. It made more than we'll need by far. Froze half of it for a later day within the next month or two. Added salt, pepper, and garlic powder as well. Tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This turned out really well! Sautéed the onions. The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Giles Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love cooking so this is "kinda lame" but has good flavor and is great for busy families or camping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I added tons of spices ... cream of celery soup instead of celery ... made cheesey easy drop biscuits increased amount of chicken ... I bought one of those rotisserie chickens ... used the breast and a bit of the dark meat as well ... will use the rest for sandwiches tomorrow evening for din din ... I will serve over white rice ... it tastes good but a little 'sweet' for my tastes ... peas and corn and carrots ... all sweet ... but it is so darn easy ... I strongly suggest making it when you are tired of cooking and just tired with little time. Go for it!!! But add lots of yummies, otherwise, it will definitely be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is delicious and easy. Simple food is often the best. A soup/stew like this on a winter afternoon is great. I gave it 4 stars because I did think a couple steps were missing. First, I sauteed the onions and celery in a little light butter first to soften them before adding everything else. Second, I did not have zucchini so I used green beans instead. For my family's taste, I know that was more appealing. I added a cup of instant rice at the end to thicken it up and make it less soup-like. Finally, there were no seasonings for this. My preference is always herbes de provence. Gives almost everything a lovely finishing taste. Since we're all watching, I used fat free stock and the result is a yummy soup that is very light. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States