Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After reading all the reviews I approached this recipe from a different angle. First I took 5 large yams, washed and dryed them and placed them on a cookie sheet and baked in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. I removed them and let them cool to touch. This made it so easy to remove the skin and slice into 2 inch rounds. I layered the rounds in a baking dish and poured the syrup over the rounds (I used dark Karo Syrup instead of maple), dusted with the nutmeg and cinnamon, also dusted with some brown sugar, and dotted with butter. I then added half a cup of water to the pan, not over the rounds. Covered with foil I baked in a 325 degree oven for 40 mintues. They were perfect!!! Remove the foil, spoon some of the syrup over the rounds and serve. Lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Excellent, we like maple syrup but were afraid it would be too sweet, cut the syrup to 1/2 a cup and water the rest, taste was scrumptious, even the kids who are not big yams lovers, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I don't eat yams, so I cannot say personally how these turned out. However, my husband hasn't stopped talking about these yams! He's already asking me to make them next year for Thanksgiving and every year thereafter. I guess they were GREAT. I did read other reviews and planned ahead. I peeled and sliced the yams the night before, and stored in the fridge in a baggie(they maintain their quality well). Then the morning of Thanksgiving I steamed in the microwave for 8 1/2 minutes. At this point I proceeded to follow recipe as stated. It made it super easy, and fast, on a busy cooking day like Thanksgiving. Worth the time, just plan ahead. I also cut the syrup down to 1/2 cup as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I follow this basic recipes; however I try to make it a little healthier. I peel, cut into 1" chunks, cook in microwave w/ 2-3 T. of water for about 8 minutes, remove, add 1 T. of butter, and 2 T of maple syrup along with the spices, mix to coat, and then bake in the oven on 350 for 25 minutes; I check on them periodically and stir as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Thansk to reviewers on the heads up about the cooking time! I nuked mine for 8 minutes first & then sliced them into spears & baked them. I was undecided as to whether I should peel the potatoes or not...in the end, I decided to try them unpeeled & am I ever glad. The peel added a nice bit of texture. These were really, really good...we'll have them over & over again. Thansk Iron Chef Suzi-Q!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
These yams tasted delicious. I had problems with the cooking instructions as well. After 45 minutes they were still hard as rocks. I had to reread the instructions to see if I was supposed to boil the yams first. I had to pop them into the microwave to finish cooking them. But still they tasted really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This tasted fantastic. It left a lot of juices in the pan, so I mashed up the yams and drizzled some of the juice on top.. yummy! I also put a little brown sugar on top (a few Tbl.) and cut the maple syrup down to 1/2 c. Next time I will use a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these for Christmas dinner and the family loved them. They were probably the most talked about dish of the meal. I did microwave the yams for about 8 minutes first and I added a little brown sugar. I was a bit worried about leaving the skin on, so I peeled some of them and left skin on a few and everyone said both ways tasted great.We will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hochstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
The flavor was good on this one, but did anyone else have a problem with the cooking time? After 30 minutes, my yams were still rock hard - So I popped them into the microwave for 10 mintues to finish the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
so so good! Be careful not to overdo it with the maple syrup, it can get a little too sweet. I lay out the yam slices and then eyeball it, making sure I put a little on each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States