Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! The best yams my husband and I have ever eaten. I didn't change a thing except that I used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon because we love cinnamon. However, I had the same problem as some other folks with the yams still being too hard after 30 to 40 minutes. I solved this problem by covering the baking dish with foil before putting it in the oven. I've made these twice now. The first time, I covered the yams after 35 minutes when I realized they were still hard and they were ready 15-20 minutes later. The second time, I covered them before baking and they were ready in 35 minutes. Absolutely fabulous! They will be a permanent holiday side dish from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these for Christmas dinner and the family loved them. They were probably the most talked about dish of the meal. I did microwave the yams for about 8 minutes first and I added a little brown sugar. I was a bit worried about leaving the skin on, so I peeled some of them and left skin on a few and everyone said both ways tasted great.We will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I gave this recipe three stars since it would not be edible as written. Using the advice of other reviewers, I steamed the yams in the microwave for 8 minutes prior to preparing. After adding the other ingredients, I baked the dish for about 35 minutes. Even after pre-steaming and baking more than the suggested time, many pieces were still too hard to eat. I microwaved the yams an additional 3 minutes until most of the slices had a nice texture. The flavor was good and my husband, who doesn't usually enjoy non-traditional vegetable, enjoyed them. With the additional cooking, I would rate this recipe four stars. But until the author updates the directions, I cannot highly recommend Harvest Yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Ditto on increasing the cooking time. After I baked them in the oven for 25 minutes they were still hard so I microwaved them for about 6 minutes. Great taste though, and even my picky son ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This tasted fantastic. It left a lot of juices in the pan, so I mashed up the yams and drizzled some of the juice on top.. yummy! I also put a little brown sugar on top (a few Tbl.) and cut the maple syrup down to 1/2 c. Next time I will use a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I follow this basic recipes; however I try to make it a little healthier. I peel, cut into 1" chunks, cook in microwave w/ 2-3 T. of water for about 8 minutes, remove, add 1 T. of butter, and 2 T of maple syrup along with the spices, mix to coat, and then bake in the oven on 350 for 25 minutes; I check on them periodically and stir as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Excellent! I am not a yam/potato fan and I wasn't sure how the maple syrup,nutmeg, cinnamon would taste with a first course but these were delicious. Make sure you use real maple syrup as artificial really would change the taste. Thanks for this fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I had to cook them for about 50 mins before they were done. And I think they would have tasted better if cooked skin up so they could soak up more of the butter syrup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Thansk to reviewers on the heads up about the cooking time! I nuked mine for 8 minutes first & then sliced them into spears & baked them. I was undecided as to whether I should peel the potatoes or not...in the end, I decided to try them unpeeled & am I ever glad. The peel added a nice bit of texture. These were really, really good...we'll have them over & over again. Thansk Iron Chef Suzi-Q!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I don't eat yams, so I cannot say personally how these turned out. However, my husband hasn't stopped talking about these yams! He's already asking me to make them next year for Thanksgiving and every year thereafter. I guess they were GREAT. I did read other reviews and planned ahead. I peeled and sliced the yams the night before, and stored in the fridge in a baggie(they maintain their quality well). Then the morning of Thanksgiving I steamed in the microwave for 8 1/2 minutes. At this point I proceeded to follow recipe as stated. It made it super easy, and fast, on a busy cooking day like Thanksgiving. Worth the time, just plan ahead. I also cut the syrup down to 1/2 cup as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States