Harvest Vegan Nut Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I substituted the walnuts with almonds and used flaxseed meal. Also added marinara sauce. I was very happy with the results and thoroughly enjoyed it. A very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
As I started making this loaf I realized it didn't look like it would set up too well and when I tasted it pre-baking, it seemed bland. I made some modifications and since I am making it for Thanksgiving I turned it into stuffing. I doubled the basil and oregano amounts and added 1 tsp of thyme, rosemary and a pinch of nutmeg. I even sprinkled just a bit of garlic powder into it. I used two cups of my own bread 'crumbs' but cubed and added about 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1/2 cup raisins, and one apple. I used only 2 cups soy milk and I added powdered veggie bouillon to the the onions and celery to add some flavor. Just add salt and pepper to your preference. Cooked it 30 min covered and 10min uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Ok, after reading all the reviews, I took the constructive comments from both sides and created what can only be called "heaven on earth" as a vegetarian family. My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy who has recently become a vegetarian and he LOVED it. We got Italian bread crumbs so they were already seasoned. Because of this, I just seasoned it to taste with a little more Italian seasoning, basil, and sea salt. We used almond milk instead of soy milk and only enough to bind everything together into a meatloaf type of consistency. Instead of using the loaf pan, we put it in a round 9 in. cake pan. It ended up tasting like Turkey Stuffing from my pre-vegetarian days. This was a huge hit in our home (even with my super picky son)! If you tried it before and it didn't work, give it another shot. I'm making it again today because we didn't have any leftovers!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veganperson1
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
THANK you Maryanne for the great recipe! Made the recipe a few weeks ago and will be doing so again today. Use as much milk as needed to bind the mixture, not to drown it. If you do everything accordingly the loaf will come out firm and taste amazing. The only small adjustment i made was adding different nuts (walnuts, macadamia nuts, almond meal and i added some spicy pepper). As usual there is plenty of people who are very unimaginative when it comes to cooking. It even says in the description that you can experiment with different nuts and vegetables, you can even try more spices or different spices. The fact that you or your spouse can't cook doesn't mean you should leave bad feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Meh, it's a'ight. It's not as tasty as I would have hoped, so next time I make it (and I probably will because I'm always looking for something new and vegan), I'll probably increase the oregano and maybe throw in some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
As a meat-eater, I have to say that this is not bad for vegan food. :-P Pretty easy to make, too. Plus, you can make it ahead of time and refrigerate until you want to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very tasty! I used normal milk instead. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Five stars with my spice ad-lib, but this was a good start. My first time making a nut roast, so I changed a few things after reading the other reviews, and the roast became a thing of beauty! Left out the bread crumbs because I was not sure they'd be acceptable to our visiting vegan. Added garlic, mushrooms and cashews, and changed the spice to hot curry powder (spicy hot Madras style), cumin and thyme. Because of the 'too soupy' comments, I used enough soy milk to bind, and cut the recipe sort of in half. I think you have to trust your cooking instincts when it 'feels' like the right texture. Totally vegan, and the carnivores were fighting over the small bit that was left!! Will make it very soon again, and even keep it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Decent, not great. Doesn't cook at all on the inside - after cooking for 90 minutes, it was still mush inside. We spread it out in a 9x13 pan, which was better - got decently firm throughout. Not exactly sure what kind of consistency it was supposed to have, but this worked out OK. We added mushrooms and red peppers in place of one of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Yikes! This was pretty awful. I was so excited to try it (and it smelled so good!), but it tasted like mushy cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States