Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
While preparing this dish I had my doubts, in particular about sauteeing onion slices in butter and brown sugar (not a common thing to do in Scandinavia), but I faithfully followed the recipe and boy did it turn out! I fell in love after the first mouthful and am now sitting here stuffed to the gills after 2 platefuls! BTW instead of warming up the oven just for a handful of almonds, instead I sautéed them in the frying pan in a little oil and set them aside before starting on the onions. We didn't have any cranberries or orange zest, but already without those this was incredibly good. This is definitely going to be a regular dish in our household from now on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatsPurr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I was a little unsure of the amount of onion for only 1 cup of rice so I just used one. It was fine but I will probably use 2 next time. I also sliced the onions thinly which I would do again. This dish was delicious!! The almonds, cranberries and orange zest gave it such a wonderful flavour. Looking forward to making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was excellent! The only thing I did different was cut the onions smaller because I don't like big onion chunks. But everything else was the same and it was great. Everything flowed together really well and just had a great flavor. This is a great fall dish that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Great flavor. Will be making this often. THANKS for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Absoutely loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Incredibly tasty, and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy! Perfect recipe to give some flavor to that wild rice that I have. I used the zest of an entire orange. The almonds give it a nice crunch and the cranberry tartness is just right. I totally omitted the mushrooms and only used one onion which I diced. I also put more brown sugar in. I'd make this again.. maybe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
i made this with what i had on hand, so i used 1 1/2 onions, canned mushrooms, half cranberries half currants, and pine nuts instead of almonds. i added about 1/2 lb chicken in small pieces which i cooked at the end with the cranberries, adding some white wine then as well. turned out AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving a few years back and got RAVE reviews. I did only use one onion though.. and cut it up a bit smaller than suggested. Super side dish for the holidays because of its color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moorheadmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good, made some substitutions but awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States