Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a good side dish, I liked it a lot, but didn't love it. I used rehydrated mushrooms (good), fresh cranberries in sugar (too tart), diced onions (good), added sausage (try pork, I used a chicken pesto). Recommend light on pepper, as it seemed to overwhelm with just a few grinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Loved this! Toasting almonds was a great recommendation. I created too much orange zest by mistake and included about 50% more than the recipe which I wouldn't repeat. Next time I'll try with less butter (for health, not taste) and I think it will work. This dish was a hit with all and will definitely be repeated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC! made this last night and the only problem with it was there wasn't enough! Great recipe, all my guests loved it. Only change I did was cut my onions smaller and only used 2 instead of 3. Will be making this again and again. 5 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
If I could give this a ten star rating I would. It was wonderful, time consuming but worth every bite. I will be bringing this year as a dish for Thanksgiving at my sister-in-laws house. Great change and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Who knew such a healthy recipe could taste like holiday comfort food?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used Lundberg's brown/wild rice mix, and coarse chopped pecans for the almonds. Next time I would like to try cooking the cranberries a bit less, so they are still chewy instead of plump. I think that texture would be good with the rice, other veggies, and nuts. Loved the hint of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Enjoyed very much. Made exactly as written and maybe my onions were too big. I would only use 2 next time and 3/4 cup of cranberries. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was delightful! Pretty much followed recipe except that I didn't have uncooked wild rice so I substituted with Uncle Ben's wild rice in the package. I also only used 2 onions, one finely diced and the other in slices just for different textures. I can tell you that I it didn't need 3 and I love onions! I also left out the orange zest just b/c I didn't have any. I served this with Marinated baked Pork Chops from this site along with green beans. I didn't find that it was too sweet as some other reviewers stated. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
THis was fantastic!! Approval from all who tried it (took it to work). Only changes I made (availability) were to use all white rice and chopped onion instead of wedges. A co-worker also suggested adding/substituting snap sugar peas. I also added cooked chicken cut into bite-size pieces at the same times as the cranberries and mushrooms (makes a meal rather than side dish). I'll try it with wild rice next time. Will make again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
it looks very festive and pretty on the table. it was just too sweet for my taste, but i'm sure people who like cranberries and sweet flavors in their rice would love it. wasn't a hit at the party i took it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States