Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is wonderful! I didn't have everything on hand so ended up using all jasmine rice, and I used roasted cashews instead of almonds. My family agrees that this is definitely a keeper! It will also be a great choice when company comes. With it I served Honey Baked Chicken, also on this site. It was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is one of those great recipes that has it all--it's pretty on the table, extremely nutritious and super versatile. I've added chopped chicken, spinach and artichokes to make it a one dish meal with great results. Thanks for sharing, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this into a gluten free, dairy free side dish by using soy butter substitute. I also had run out of slivered almonds, so toasted up some pine nuts. It was great. Since the first time, I've also used toasted pumpkin seeds in place of almonds.. This dish can be varied in so many interesting ways by using different dried fruits... apricots, cherries, apples, dates ... wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
VERY good. The onions and cranberries are by far the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I like this, I would omit the cranberries next time, because it was too much going on. The taste was ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Onion size was too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a yummy dish, I make it every year at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I haven't changed it a bit it's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm making this to bring to Thanksgiving, so just did a little taste test, and wow is it excellent. I doubled the recipe because we have a large family. The only things I didn't double were the sugar and the onions. I only used two onions, and that was perfect. I also added one cup dried cherries along with the cup of dried cranberries, and that combo was delicious. I would definitely make it that way again. I used portobellos for the mushrooms, and it gave the rice a nice, hearty flavor. We'll definitely make this again and again during the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. I toasted the almonds in a frying pan instead of the oven and they came out fine. I chopped the onions instead of keeping them in wedges before caramelizing them for a more uniform distribution. Most importantly added cut up rotisserie chicken to make it a meal instead of a side dish. My 3 college age children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a good side dish, I liked it a lot, but didn't love it. I used rehydrated mushrooms (good), fresh cranberries in sugar (too tart), diced onions (good), added sausage (try pork, I used a chicken pesto). Recommend light on pepper, as it seemed to overwhelm with just a few grinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States