Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I left out the mushrooms and forgot the brown sugar, but this was a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is a fantastic dish! Can't wait for the holidays to dazzle the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Have served this several times for the holidays. It's always a hit - tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
There is almost too much going on in this recipe, lots of strong flavors. To my surprise the small amount of orange zest was quite overpowering. I think if the amount of rice/broth was doubled (or the other ingredients halved) this would be better - I like my rice side dishes to be more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is another reicpe that I use frequently. I don't like the onion wedges in this though. I make the recipe just as written except that I sliver the onion wedges so that the onion is in short thin strips. This reduces the cooking time for the onions (20 minutes) considerably since more surface area of the onions are exposed. I also toast the almonds before using them. PLace the almond slivers on a baking sheet and pop into a preheated 350*F oven. Eacth them closely, they will burn if not tended to. Stir the almonds frequently til light brown. The toasted almonds make the dish taste deeper and nuttier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOMEKEEPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
My husband and I thought the orange zest was a little over-powering, so I will use less or none of that next time. Otherwise, this is a great way to jazz up boring rice! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made this for a client and received rave reviews! It was very festive in appearance and smelled heavenly! I used a brown/wild rice blend from Trader Joe's and used my pressure cooker to cut down the cooking time. (15 minutes) Also used vegetable broth for my vegetarian clients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
AWESOME RECIPE!!! I made this on a whim for serve with a pork roast so I didn't have all the ingredients on hand and had to make a couple of substitutions. Instead of dried cranberries, I used currants, instead of brown and wild rice, I used jasmine rice and cooked it the normal 20 minutes. And instead of orange zest, I used 1/8 tsp. orange oil. DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again and will probably use the jasmine rice again. Perfect for holidays and special dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was fantastic! I couldn't find just wild rice, so I used a box of Uncle Ben's Original Long Grain and Wild Rice mix, minus the sauce packet - it worked great! I also didn't have slivered almonds on hand, so I used chopped walnuts. Even my in-laws loved it! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
The Harvest Rice dish was a smash hit at two different dinner parties. The blend of flavors is absolutely marvelous. It was an easy to make dish that looked beautiful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States