Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Changes: * no slivered almonds. used dried fruit & nut mix to replace almonds and cranberries. * used only brown rice, not wild * used chopped, not sliced onions * used olive oil, not butter * used canned mushrooms * used lemon juice, not orange zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Expensive for a side dish. Good hot, not a fan of it reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe-I didn't have any wild rice or oranges, so I just left them out. I also didn't measure the cranberries (which I chopped up tiny) or mushrooms...but I absolutely loved this--which I very rarely do without tweaking the recipe. The carmelized onions simply MAKE this recipe. I also followed another suggestion to toss in the almonds with the rice to make them more tender. Definite high five!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
First time I made this it was great- I used homemade organic chicken stock. The second time I made this I used College Inn chicken stock and it was pretty bad- If you make this use only the freshest ingredients and real stock and its wonderful- otherwise don't bother. (And I often used canned products this isn't just snobbery talking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
At first, this side intimidated me a bit. I a boxed rice kinda girl. But the end result was amazing! It won out over the brandided steaks as the star of the dinner plate. It reminded me a bit of the rice that comes with Orange Sesame Chicken at some chain restaurants. Its a keeper! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe.I found a packaged brown rice/wild rice combination and used that. Since I am vegetarian, I used vegetable broth. Because I thought the onion amount was vague, I went with 2 medium onions. I increased the mushrooms to 3/4 cup. I used tangerine zest instead of orange, because that is all I had. If you like these ingredients in general, I think you will love this recipe. The flavors come together so nicely. The only changes I will make next time is use less butter and more orange zest. It ended up being a bit too greasy for my tastes. But still worth 5 stars. I can't wait to try this next Thanksgiving or Christmas. UPDATE: I continue to make this dish with great success. I have cut back on the cranberries. I find I prefer it a little less sweet. Also, I do make this a day ahead and reheat. I find that if do not but the almonds in until you are going to reheat it, they will be crunchier. Just love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was awsome. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I would reduce the amount of cranberries and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is just the best thing ever. I halved the cranberries and doubled the mushrooms. Thank goodness I scaled the recipe down because I finished it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I'll add this recipe to my holiday collection. Although the recipe didn't specify onion size, I used 3 large onions and it worked out fine. The mushrooms and almonds were hardly noticeable (may add more when I try again), but I liked the orange zest and the cranberries were wonderful. I wouldn't substitute the cranberries - they and the onions made the dish. I finally found a way to enjoy brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was very different - sweet, salty, and crunchy all at the same time. I did not have cranberries, so I added green apples instead. Still came out a very interesting tasting dish. I would probably make this again - maybe next time I will use raisins instead of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States