Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of September 27th. I could NOT be more thrilled with these. The cake part is so light, airy, & soft! I was expecting quickbread muffins at best but what I got was actual pumpkin cake! (I've never tasted pumpkin cake before -- many pumpkin quickbreads, but never the light fluffiness of actual cake with pumpkin!) For the frosting I used: 1 tsp OJ, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp. orange extract (and the other ingredients as listed). This let me use less powdered sugar so my frosting isn't sickeningly sweet. It piped beautifully, and tastes like a Dreamsicle. This recipe produced ONLY 24 cupcakes for me. They baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and 35 minutes in 2 different brands of muffin tin. Lastly, when my photo is up, I used a Wilton 1M tip to pipe (outside in, concentric circles). There is just enough frosting for 24 cupcakes using a 1M but I'm sure is plenty for smaller tips or knife-spreading. Thanks so much for the recipe, I can't wait to share these! UPDATE: I tried to get out of making these this year & made apple cake instead & DH had a FIT. He came as close to mutiny as he ever would in my kitchen, so today I made these for him to take to work and we ate the apple cake ourselves, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Here's another five-star review for these delicious cupcakes! The recipe made 24 regular-sized and 8 mini-sized cupcakes for me, and the frosting was spot-on perfect! Another reviewer said hers were done in 22 minutes, so I checked mine at that time, and that was perfect (the minis took a couple of minutes less time). For the frosting, one large orange produced the right amount of zest. It's funny how when I buy any fruit with rind now, I always pick it out with zesting in mind! These are delicious cupcakes! UPDATE: This recipe makes about 75 mini-cupcakes and look perfect using an M1 tip to squish on a dollop of the frosting! Check for doneness at about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I've been seeing these around a lot and decided to make them, but only a half batch just in case we didn't like them. All I can say is these are one of the best cupcakes I've ever made. The cake is moist and delicious with the perfect taste of Fall. And the frosting, wow, I can't wait to try it on other cupcakes. It is amazing. I suggest that everyone gives this one a try because you don't know what you're missing until you've tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
these were sooo good they were light and airy but still moist and yummy! they were so good plain that we didn't even make the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfgarshoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are wonderful cupcakes. Just a little sweet - almost more like a muffin. I put a chocolate cream cheese frosting on them and they were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are awesome! The taste of a Pumpkin Roll without all the work. However, the baking time only needs to be 20mins. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I kept seeing these pictured on the main page, and thought I'd try them. Wow, am I glad I did! They were excellent. The orange icing went great with the pumpkin flavor of the cupcake. Everyone loved them! I got about 30 cupcakes out of this recipe, and only baked for about 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 all purpose flour. I was out of cornstarch, so I just added another 1/2 cup of the flour. Also substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. They turned out great! My kids gobbled them up! No frosting for us. Didn't need it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These are great! Fluffy & moist. I only got 27 cupcakes from the recipe. I did cut the sugar a little in the cake. I also only baked them for 20 minutes; they came out perfect. Loved the frosting however I think I would just use a plain cream cheese frosting as I felt the orange took away from the pumpkin cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious! I made them exactly as the recipe states. I can't imagine what would make them any more scrumptious. I did only get 20 cupcakes out of the batter, though, just as info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States