Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and oh man, are these DELICIOUS!!!!! I maed them exactly as written, and feel no changes are necessary. I got 35 cupcakes out of the recipe and I baked them @ 325 degrees for only 14 minutes (my oven is super HOT). The icing is VERY sweet, but it really compliments the cupcake nicely. I did add a drop of orange oil, just to get a better orange flavor. I was able to ice about 18 cupcakes, but I like a lot of icing, so if you are just gonna spread it on, there should be plenty. I decided to freeze the un-iced cupcakes for another time. I really can't believe how fantastic these turned out...I will be making these many, many more times~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of September 27th. I could NOT be more thrilled with these. The cake part is so light, airy, & soft! I was expecting quickbread muffins at best but what I got was actual pumpkin cake! (I've never tasted pumpkin cake before -- many pumpkin quickbreads, but never the light fluffiness of actual cake with pumpkin!) For the frosting I used: 1 tsp OJ, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp. orange extract (and the other ingredients as listed). This let me use less powdered sugar so my frosting isn't sickeningly sweet. It piped beautifully, and tastes like a Dreamsicle. This recipe produced ONLY 24 cupcakes for me. They baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and 35 minutes in 2 different brands of muffin tin. Lastly, when my photo is up, I used a Wilton 1M tip to pipe (outside in, concentric circles). There is just enough frosting for 24 cupcakes using a 1M but I'm sure is plenty for smaller tips or knife-spreading. Thanks so much for the recipe, I can't wait to share these! UPDATE: I tried to get out of making these this year & made apple cake instead & DH had a FIT. He came as close to mutiny as he ever would in my kitchen, so today I made these for him to take to work and we ate the apple cake ourselves, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ewolfe13
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fabulous recipe. I must admit I used a different frosting (cinnamon coffee from this site) but the cupcakes themselves were light and fluffy and delicious. I doubt they will last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewolfe13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Here's another five-star review for these delicious cupcakes! The recipe made 24 regular-sized and 8 mini-sized cupcakes for me, and the frosting was spot-on perfect! Another reviewer said hers were done in 22 minutes, so I checked mine at that time, and that was perfect (the minis took a couple of minutes less time). For the frosting, one large orange produced the right amount of zest. It's funny how when I buy any fruit with rind now, I always pick it out with zesting in mind! These are delicious cupcakes! UPDATE: This recipe makes about 75 mini-cupcakes and look perfect using an M1 tip to squish on a dollop of the frosting! Check for doneness at about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are awesome! The taste of a Pumpkin Roll without all the work. However, the baking time only needs to be 20mins. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this recipe as is. Icing and all. They are amazingly delicious. Not need to change a thing. I got 3 dozen regular sized cupcakes. I also topped with candied orange peel and a pecan half. These really made me fell like Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was one of the best recipes for the pumpkin cake itself that I've ever tasted. The frosting was not to be ignored but the cake was outstanding! I made them for my son's end of football party and they were a hit. The adults enjoyed them too. I did NOT get 32 cupcakes out of it though, I ended up with 21, I think, and I felt that was filling the cups 3/4 full. I can't complain. I kept a few for my family, then sent the rest. Since I got fewer than I expected, I would've doubled the recipe but I always follow it the first time as is. My family definitely wanted more. I had more frosting than I needed and may make another half-batch. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've been itching to make something with pumpkin for a couple of weeks now and these were perfect! I had to make a couple of minor substitutions- like apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice (which worked just as well), but otherwise I stuck to the cupcake recipe. I did add a bit more orange juice to the icing, plus about a 1/4 tsp brown sugar and a dusting of cinnamon for a hint of spice- yum! My family and my boyfriend love them, and my dad even asked to take some to work to share. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made as recipe stated - wonderfully moist and tastey! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made these for Recipe Group and they are Outstanding!! This is the best Pumpkin Spice Cake and the icing is to die for. Definately one of our favorite pumpkin recipes that we have ever tried. The cake is moist, tender, perfectly spiced, not overly sweet and best of all - you can really taste the pumpkin. The spices and sweetness do not overpower the pumpkin flavor. The orange buttercream is delicious and is a perfect match. I followed the recipe with the exception of using reg Pure Vanilla Extract (not the 100% Pure Bourbon Vanilla) and would not change a thing. This recipe will be used often, not only during the fall/Holidays, but all year. Our new favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States