Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These cupcakes are fantastic! I've made them once for work and once for a family event and everyone loved them. The only thing I changed was the frosting, I used orange extract instead of orange juice. It added a really fresh orange taste to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made as recipe stated - wonderfully moist and tastey! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Perfect! For a pumpkin dessert, they are very light and soft. Delightful, really. I did use 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and also used 1 t orange extract instead of orange juice, but aside from that didn't change it. It made 18 regular/full cupcakes and 12 mini bite sized ones. The large ones were done at 25 minutes and the bite size ones in 10. I used all of the frosting on the 18 large cupcakes, but I tend to load mine on fancy with big piping tips. The mini, bite sized ones most certainly didn't go to waste because they didn't have frosting! The orange zest is a must, and next time I might try adding more cream cheese to cut the sweetness. I realized when I was passing the recipe on that I forgot to add vanilla to the frosting. The orange extract was enough, really. Took them to a baby shower and everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were super easy. The frosting is delicious. These do no get better the next day though. They were almost a 5 star recipe shortly out of the oven. By the next day, I found the cake to be kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great cupcake! It is a bit more dense than other cupcakes, but that's just because the pumpkin is a heavier ingredient. Still light enough to be a cupcake tho. I baked mine for only 20 min's, timed it for 30, but checked after 20 and they were done! Could've even cooked a little less. I would check them after 18 min's. I used regular vanilla and made my own pumpkin pie spice. The biggest difference was that I added at least 1 cup more of powdered sugar to the frosting. I wanted to pipe it on the cupcakes and as written, it's WAY to thin for that! All in all, it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've been itching to make something with pumpkin for a couple of weeks now and these were perfect! I had to make a couple of minor substitutions- like apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice (which worked just as well), but otherwise I stuck to the cupcake recipe. I did add a bit more orange juice to the icing, plus about a 1/4 tsp brown sugar and a dusting of cinnamon for a hint of spice- yum! My family and my boyfriend love them, and my dad even asked to take some to work to share. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These were delicious. I followed the recipe and they turned out very moist and yummy. The frosting is to-die-for! I even used light cream cheese. Served them at a party and received lots of compliments on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I bake a lot (I sell cakes) and I am always looking for easy recipes that are light and fluffy. This one is great and has great flavor. The frosting was good as well. I did add the zest of the whole orange (about 2 1/2 T) and a bit more juice, then about 1/2 cup more p. sugar to make up for the extra liquid. Very orange-y! Yum. I also did not use pumpkin pie spice in the cake, but used a combination of nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves (basically the same thing). I also added finely chopped roasted pecans to the top after frosting. All in all, a great recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe! The cupcakes came out perfectly; light, fluffy and delicious. Instead of making the cream cheese frosting I bought Duncan Hines Creamy Home Style Cream Cheese frosting and put the OJ and peel into it. The addition of the OJ made it a little liquidy, so I also added a few Tbs of powdered sugar to stiffen it back up. I made candied orange peels to place on top of each cupcake. Made 30 cupcakes and only took 25 mins to bake at 350 degrees. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made these with the kids for a home school lesson....not only did they have fun....these cupcakes were EXCELLENT!! We didn't change a thing and just added a few orange and yellow non periels and a few chocolate sprinkles. I did make a small hole in the cupcake to put some frosting in side the cake. Everyone LOVED them and was asking for the recipe.....which I'm keeping to myself for the moment. hehe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States