Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Excellent! I made this tonight in my slow cooker with the pork chunks, red potatoes, onions, baby carrots, and apple (didn't have the squash). It turned out super tender and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Really a fine meal, and the pork was extremely tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This stew was delicious! After sauteeing the onion and garlic w/ the pork, I threw in the carrots, potatoes and some mushrooms and sauteed it for a bit longer. Then I poured in one cup of the chicken broth and scraped up all the brown bits before putting it all in the cooker w/ the rest of the broth and spices. I skipped the butternut squash, only because I didn't have any. Would love to try it next time though. At the end I mixed 2 tbsps of flour and a bit of cold water and stirred that in at the end. It made a savory gravy! Mmm, I'm going back for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My entire family, iincluding my in-laws loved this. I made due with what I had. I pre-heated the pork as suggested, added the broth, onion, rosemary, sage, 2 cubed apples, baby carrots, red pepper, garlic, mushroom and green peppers. Threw it all in the slow cooker and left it for 4 hours. I ended up having to added a little flour and a can of mushroom soup at the end to thicken it a little but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I used this recipe to use up some leftover pork loin. I just added the pork when I added the potatoes and apples. It turned out excellent! (The pork was better in the stew than when I originally cooked it.) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I did, however, make some changes. I used parsnips and turnips instead of butternut squash and potatoes. And it gave it a lot more flavor. I also thickened it at the end with flour/milk. A wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
When I saw that the submitee was from my birth place I just had to try this! Its awesome! Thank you! kia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I was not sure about this but tried it and loved it. I don't really like apples in anything other than pie. My husband did not even know there were apples in it. It just gave it such a good taste. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Delicious! I doubled it for big family gathering, put it in 5 qt. pan. Didn't have room to double potatoes and apples, but still great. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! I added apple cider in addition to/instead of chicken broth and a few dashes soy sauce. I increased salt a bit, added garlic and onion powders in addition to the fresh garlic & onion. The sage and rosemary really complement this dish well! Make sure you use very fresh spices, as is the case with any recipe. I also used beef chuck roast since I didn't have pork handy and it was awesome. I look forward to trying it with pork. I also used fresh butternut squash, peeled with vegetable peeler and cubed, since that's all I had on hand. Yummers! Oh, and since I like the meat very tender, I simmered the meat with liquids/spices about an hour before adding veggies, then simmered another 1/2 hour. Adding the veggies long after the meat was an excellent idea and helped veggies retain their pretty color and shapes. I cut carrots on the bias for oval shapes instead of cubing, but either would be pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a delicious healthy one pot meal. It's comforting and is a huge variation from the usual pork dishes I make. I used low-sodium chicken broth so I would imagine it would be even better with regular broth. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States