Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Excellent! I made this tonight in my slow cooker with the pork chunks, red potatoes, onions, baby carrots, and apple (didn't have the squash). It turned out super tender and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Delicious! I doubled it for big family gathering, put it in 5 qt. pan. Didn't have room to double potatoes and apples, but still great. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! I added apple cider in addition to/instead of chicken broth and a few dashes soy sauce. I increased salt a bit, added garlic and onion powders in addition to the fresh garlic & onion. The sage and rosemary really complement this dish well! Make sure you use very fresh spices, as is the case with any recipe. I also used beef chuck roast since I didn't have pork handy and it was awesome. I look forward to trying it with pork. I also used fresh butternut squash, peeled with vegetable peeler and cubed, since that's all I had on hand. Yummers! Oh, and since I like the meat very tender, I simmered the meat with liquids/spices about an hour before adding veggies, then simmered another 1/2 hour. Adding the veggies long after the meat was an excellent idea and helped veggies retain their pretty color and shapes. I cut carrots on the bias for oval shapes instead of cubing, but either would be pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This stew was delicious! After sauteeing the onion and garlic w/ the pork, I threw in the carrots, potatoes and some mushrooms and sauteed it for a bit longer. Then I poured in one cup of the chicken broth and scraped up all the brown bits before putting it all in the cooker w/ the rest of the broth and spices. I skipped the butternut squash, only because I didn't have any. Would love to try it next time though. At the end I mixed 2 tbsps of flour and a bit of cold water and stirred that in at the end. It made a savory gravy! Mmm, I'm going back for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My entire family, iincluding my in-laws loved this. I made due with what I had. I pre-heated the pork as suggested, added the broth, onion, rosemary, sage, 2 cubed apples, baby carrots, red pepper, garlic, mushroom and green peppers. Threw it all in the slow cooker and left it for 4 hours. I ended up having to added a little flour and a can of mushroom soup at the end to thicken it a little but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I did, however, make some changes. I used parsnips and turnips instead of butternut squash and potatoes. And it gave it a lot more flavor. I also thickened it at the end with flour/milk. A wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used fresh squash and left out the carrots because I didn't have any.Used a combination of Braeburn and Granny Smith apples and left the peels on my potatos cause I like em that way! got mixed reviews from the kids, most gave it a 3.5, none HATED it. I thought it got better and better the more I ate. I am thinking it will be even better tomorrow. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My family really enjoyed this stew. The flavor of the butternut and the spices was amazing. And its a recipe you can add to or subtract from and make your own! We loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didn't have any sage or rosemary, so I just seasoned mine with salt and pepper. I added a little apple cider to the pot, and some chopped celery. I really wanted to try one of the 'dinner in a pumpkin' recipes from this site, but I thought the flavors of this stew would go better with the pumpkin than any of the ones in those recipes. I made the stew the night before and simmered it on low for about 1 hour. The next day I used this stew to bake in my pumpkin, and it turned out delicious. I left out the squash and scraped the pumpkin meat into the stew when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Really a fine meal, and the pork was extremely tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I tried it with chicken breast instead of pork and it turned out well. I put everything in the slow cooker without any precooking. I also used fresh squash instead of frozen. I liked it but next time I'll try pork for more flavor. Made it a second time with pork and it was ok. I used fresh butternut squash and added some corn but I still think it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States