Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is an unusual and tasty stew. I haven't tasted anything quite like it. The recipe makes a lot of stew - consider halving. The timing of cooking the ingredients is off in the recipe. The challenge is to cook the ingredients so that they all become tender at the same time. Another reviewer suggested a good order. I tried my own but my timing was off since the butternut squash turned to mush. Maybe that was the intent of the recipe, because ut added creaminess, but i think it would be better as a distinct ingredient. Timing may be crucial to the perfect execution of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a very tasty stew. I followed recipe, but next time I will change the cooking order. I will boil potatoes and carrots for a few minutes and then add the squash. While those are simmering, I will cook pork and add the pork and apples at the end. The apples disintegrated when I cooked them as the recipe is written and the potatoes and carrots were not completely done. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not a bad stew, it is comfort food but lacks alot of flavor & I just hate to add a ton of salt to gain that flavor back. I did add the potatoes which I suggest omitting as they just add extra starch. Do add the carrots - they add color & flavor and you could even add a little chopped parsley for color. I wouldn't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was fantastic, i loved the unique flavor of this stew. The only change i made was using summer squash instead of butternut squash. My husband can't stand butternut squash - i would have liked to try it according to the recipe but he woudln't try it that way. I loved the seasoning and the apple taste in this. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this last night and thought it came out great. I skipped the apples, added sliced baby bella mushrooms and I used fresh butternut squash instead of frozen. I also sprinkled the pork with salt, pepper and flour before cooking. Served over rice. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
We love this one. I've made it the last three autumns in the slow cooker and we freeze the leftovers, but it's gone by spring and we talk about it all summer. I do use fresh squash rather than frozen. Oh, and I replace the potatoes with sweet potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was so good and so good for you! I used yams instead of the squash. I also added a little bit of apple cider. Everyone loved it. I can't wait to try the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
YUUUUUUUUUMMM!!!! This is soooooo good! I couldn't get enough of it! Even my boyfriend, who doesn't like soupy/stewy dishes, loved this dish. Definitely will make over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I found this stew to be flavorless and fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was very good. A nice alternative to beef stew. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartland, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States