Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I had wondered about the apple chunks in this, but made it as posted, and I should have realized that the apples would cook right down to basically liquid, just as if you were making apple sauce. Although I was almost hovering over the slow cooker, thinking, "There's no way this is enough liquid", it ended up certainly being enough liquid, and this was a big hit at home. Great pork stew, although I used fresh squash and swore never to do that again, given that I had never had the unfortunate experience of trying to cut and peel one before. Great, great, stick to your ribs, perfect for a stormy day at home stew! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made according to the directions except for 3 things. I doubled the amount of rosemary & sage. I used cubed rutabaga instead of potato, and, instead of 3 c. of chocken broth, I used 2 c. chicken broth and 1 1/2 c. of riesling wine. I'm quite pleased with the result and can't wait to share it with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was exceptional, used fresh squash as I could not find cubed frozen. Think the key is good spices, I use penzys. This had great texture and wonderful flavor and was quick and easy. My boyfriend and brother both picky chowed it down. for sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
We loved this recipe! It's now in my personal favorites. In all fairness, I added the kitchen sink (leftovers that would compliment this dish) The butternut squash adds so much to this soup, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
So good! Especially in the fall/winter. I used all veggies listed. It was very hearty and flavorful. I didn't have any rosemary, but used fresh and dried sage, and added garlic powder, s&p. Everyone like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I used what I had and improvised for our food preferences.I only gave this four stars because I tweeked it so much. The spices are excellent. Omitted apples and squash and just did potatoes and carrots. The rosemary and sage are what makes this stew! I substituted a little basil for lack of bay leaf and it was delicious. I did think it needed about 1c more of liquid. I added 1.5 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it some. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent Stew. I took the advice or a previous reviewer and let the pork cook in the just the liquid portion of the recipe for a little over an hour. This made the pork melt in your mouth tender. I added an extra half cup of water to compensate for the extra cooking. I chopped fresh sage leaves and added a generous portions at least 10 leaves. The taste of the fresh sage and the apples was outstanding. I cooked all the vegetables for 20 min as the recipe calls for. I did however use fresh butternut squash andadded the squash about 15 min before the recipe was done instead of 20 min. I also added a little bit of cornstarch dissolved in cold water to thicken it especially since I added extra water. Instead of putting potatoes in the stew I served it with a side of roasted garlic mashed potatoes. The mashed potatoes complimented the stew as it gave you something to eat the gravy with. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cammorata
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum! I followed this nearly exactly - I only added heavier spices (fresh rosemary from the garden, more garlic and sage, 3 bay leaves). I trimmed the fat from the pork before cooking, used fresh butternut squash, used gala apples that I peeled first and extra carrots and potatoes. Everyone loved it! The apples cook down so much, you never feel as if you are biting into an apple - it just adds a flavor that is perfect. I cooked this in the crock pot. Next time I'll add the squash later so it stays a bit firmer. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I was searching for a pork stew recipe and found this one. I just happened to have a butternut squash too. I made the recipe pretty much as written, adding salt and pepper to the meat when browning it, added herb de provence instead of rosemary (it is in it). I steamed the potatoes and squash and served them with it. I used Pink Lady apples and put them in 10 minutes before it was done. I added the carrots with the onion and garlic plus added chopped turnip, celery root and parsnip (had a stew mix of veggies at home already). Considered thickening the broth but we decided not to and I am glad it was so lovely. My husband wasn't sure he would like it, but he was pleasantly surprised he said and ate a huge bowl and took a huge box of it to work the next day. Thanks for the lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States