Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I have made this twice now and I love it. It is very comforting and makes me feel happy! I think I stayed pretty much to the recipe although I did use fresh squash. I have made it stove top and in the slow-cooker and it came out delicious both ways. Last time, the squash started turning brown (still tasted good) so I may try adding them just a bit later on next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was really good! I made it in the slow cooker and used chicken instead of pork (I hate pork, but liked the sound of this recipe). I also used fresh herbs because, completely unintentionally, I had fresh rosemary and fresh sage on hand. I served it with sour dough rolls warmed in the oven. This was very good and tasted very light. Don’t skimp on the apple. It adds a hint of sweetness. Thanks for sharing! I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I thought at first I did not know what I was getting myself into. But as I put it together it was beautiful. There were nine family members that I had to feed. But let me tell you that pot was empty, seconds & thirds. It is a great dish. I just added extra than the ingredients asked for. GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this stew and it was awesome. I added 2 pinches of cinnamon and red pepper flakes to the recipe and it turned out great. I also used 1 yam and 1 regular potato and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I really loved the flavor of this, but the last 20 minutes was too long - my squash was a bit mushy and the apples were practically falling apart. I think next time I will not cook it as long and add the apples last - they didn't need that long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very nice taste. I used green beans instead of squash since that's what I had. It would have been better with the sweetness of squash. I was concerned that there was not enough liquid, and it was definitely more veggies and meat than broth. The broth was thin, but squash might have thickened it. I also just used poultry seasoning instead of the individual spices. My 4 year old LOVED it. I will make again. Great way to use leftover pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was good, but you definitely need to put the apples in only for the last 5 minutes, otherwise they are mush. I tried a little after it was done and I could taste the apples. However, when I served it the next day, the apples just took on the taste of the stew. It was good both times, but I liked the apple flavor of the first day better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Great flavor and love all the ingredients but I wish this was more of a stew broth instead of a soup. Will try again and thicken the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I was leary when I started, but this dish is AWESOME!! As per other reviewers I cooked the pork for 45 minutes for added tenderness Hint: If using fresh butternut squash, wrap it in plastic wrap, jab it with a large meat fork, then nuke it on high for about 5-7 minutes. Let cool a little then cut up. It is much easier to deal with. I also added a few frozen peas at the end just for a little bit more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
LOVE IT!! I cook this all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States