Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious! The apples really round out the flavor of the stew. Don't leave them out. I doubled the spices and added a little flour to thicken it. The perfect thing for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good, followed recipe for crock pot version. Next time going to add a little extra brown sugar or some apple juice to replace some of the broth to emphasize a little more of the sweetness... the apples didn't make as much difference in sweetness as I was hoping for. Still, nice change from the normal beef stew I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very good! I used the slow cooker; however, I cooked it a bit too long - I would suggest 3 hours tops because my apples disinigrated. My husband likes beef stew better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe! Didn't change a thing. Put it all in the crockpot and had an absolutely delicious dinner. I will make this again and again, I'm certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I think sometimes it's the mood a person is in that determines whether you like a dish.....or not. DH thought this was good but I did not like it at all. The apples just didn't work with it for me. I added some sour cream at the end of the cooking time and even THAT didn't save it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So, can I give this 10 stars? Great recipe! I followed the spice measurments exactly. Be sure to do that because the amounts were perfect! My husband loved this. I did add some rutabaga because it is awesome with pork. You can also add turnips and/or parsnips and it would be great. My husband loved this stew. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Love it, but I find that the apples, especially Macs, just go to mush. I used dried (dehydrated) apple rings instead and they held together and looked really nice. (Always like ways to use up the apples from my backyard tree.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo King

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe turned out so good. Ways I changed it: I used chicken instead of pork. I cooked the chicken, garlic and onions for an hour (instead of 20 minutes) to make sure it was nice and tender. I added about 3x the amount of sage and rosemary. I also added garlic powder. Instead of 2 potatoes, I used one potato and 1 yam. I also added 2 stalks of celery. I used fresh butternut squash, instead of frozen. Added the squash and apples in just the last 5 min. so they were just tender. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Pork is not my specialty!! But this recipe sounded great... AND IT WAS! I did tweak it a bit using fresh rosemary sprig instead of dried, 1 yam & 1 red potato and pumpkin instead of butternut squash cause that's what I had. I also added two cups apple cider, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of Dark brown sugar. My hunny loved it and said it was to go in the "Favorites" list! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Normally love pork and apple stuff, but I didn't like this. The flavors didn't work for me. Granted, I didn't use sage. But, I did add lots of salt and a little sour cream to my bowl, and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States