Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very good! I used the slow cooker; however, I cooked it a bit too long - I would suggest 3 hours tops because my apples disinigrated. My husband likes beef stew better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe! Didn't change a thing. Put it all in the crockpot and had an absolutely delicious dinner. I will make this again and again, I'm certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I think sometimes it's the mood a person is in that determines whether you like a dish.....or not. DH thought this was good but I did not like it at all. The apples just didn't work with it for me. I added some sour cream at the end of the cooking time and even THAT didn't save it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So, can I give this 10 stars? Great recipe! I followed the spice measurments exactly. Be sure to do that because the amounts were perfect! My husband loved this. I did add some rutabaga because it is awesome with pork. You can also add turnips and/or parsnips and it would be great. My husband loved this stew. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Love it, but I find that the apples, especially Macs, just go to mush. I used dried (dehydrated) apple rings instead and they held together and looked really nice. (Always like ways to use up the apples from my backyard tree.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe turned out so good. Ways I changed it: I used chicken instead of pork. I cooked the chicken, garlic and onions for an hour (instead of 20 minutes) to make sure it was nice and tender. I added about 3x the amount of sage and rosemary. I also added garlic powder. Instead of 2 potatoes, I used one potato and 1 yam. I also added 2 stalks of celery. I used fresh butternut squash, instead of frozen. Added the squash and apples in just the last 5 min. so they were just tender. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Pork is not my specialty!! But this recipe sounded great... AND IT WAS! I did tweak it a bit using fresh rosemary sprig instead of dried, 1 yam & 1 red potato and pumpkin instead of butternut squash cause that's what I had. I also added two cups apple cider, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of Dark brown sugar. My hunny loved it and said it was to go in the "Favorites" list! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Normally love pork and apple stuff, but I didn't like this. The flavors didn't work for me. Granted, I didn't use sage. But, I did add lots of salt and a little sour cream to my bowl, and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I have made this twice now and I love it. It is very comforting and makes me feel happy! I think I stayed pretty much to the recipe although I did use fresh squash. I have made it stove top and in the slow-cooker and it came out delicious both ways. Last time, the squash started turning brown (still tasted good) so I may try adding them just a bit later on next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was really good! I made it in the slow cooker and used chicken instead of pork (I hate pork, but liked the sound of this recipe). I also used fresh herbs because, completely unintentionally, I had fresh rosemary and fresh sage on hand. I served it with sour dough rolls warmed in the oven. This was very good and tasted very light. Don’t skimp on the apple. It adds a hint of sweetness. Thanks for sharing! I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States