Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Made it to the T. Had fresh squash, so I baked it first then added to pot. It needed a lot more seasonings!! I just added to taste. Family really liked it. A nice change from beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The family loved this! I used the recipe as a guideline for making a stew out of leftover pork loin. I didn't have chicken broth or white potatoes, so I started by sauteeing garlic and onion, adding 3 cups of water and the herbs (used more of the herbs than called for in the recipe). Then I added the leftover pork, a small amount of leftover roasted squash, apples, sweet potatoes, carrots, and a dash of ginger. I squeezed a little lemon juice in it just before serving to lift the flavors a bit. Delicious, and even tastier the next day! I'll try it again, starting from scratch this time, as I was pleased with the combination of textures and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I added sweet potatoes (along with some regular) and it came out great - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is one of the best pork stews I have ever made. It was fast and tasted terrific. This always deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made some changes only because I forgot the recipe and I was going off memory. I cooked the onion with butter and shut off flame when onion was soft. I then added a handful of flour. The mixture was sticky. I then boiled broth (same pan) and reduced heat to let vegetables & apple cook/simmer. (I was using leftover pork so I skipped that part) I also added celery for color and a few shakes of red pepper flakes for a bite. I will make this again & think it's better than beef stew... in my opinion. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Good flavour. The meat was great after simmering it for 20 min, however the potatoes do NOT take 20 min to cook and I only cut them very small. I turned the heat up a little and of course, the meat toughened... frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Wonderful flavor and versitility. Great recipe for inexpensive cuts of pork and as long as they are cut into small pieces. Cooks up fast and very tender. Don't leave out the apple at the very end and I added whatever was in the refrigerator. Great way to get the family to eat sweet potatoes, butternut squash and, yes, brussel sprouts. Since I like a thicker stew, added Wondra at the end and seasoned with Kitchen Bouquet for a rich, brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Was fabulous! I wasn't sure if everyone would like b/c everyone doesn't love squash, but everyone devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great recipe! I did not put in potato or carrots. I did use half apple juice/chicken broth..I replaced that with hominy. (What I had on hand) followed the recipe otherwise and thickened at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yum! I will make this again, and that's saying a lot for me! I used fresh butternut squash and fresh rosemary and I left out the carrots (personal preference). I don't know if I tasted any sweetness from the apple like other people mentioned (I forgot to pay attention, I was too hungry!), but anyways it was good. I made a half recipe and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States