Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because I think it has the basis for a really good recipe, but it is ripe for variations. I used boneless country-style spareribs, cubed, so of course it needed to cook a bit longer. I used Hubbard squash because it was on sale..couldn't find any squash in the freezer section. Two cups of red potatoes rather than russet. Had to giggle at the review that said they didn't care for the stew because they didn't like rosemary. 1/4 ts rosemary? Really. I used about 2 ts fresh rosemary and one ts fresh sage; more salt and lots of fresh ground black pepper. It's what my family calls "homely" food. Not a great looker, but mighty tasty. I think it will be better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I had leftover pork tenderloin and butternut squash from the garden, searched recipes and found this. It was amazing!! Everyone loved it, definitely going to become a regular meal!! Comfort food with wonderful flavours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm so sorry; but, I hated this. To be fair, I Rosemary is not my favorite herb and I have only ever had butternut squash mashed with butter and sugar. I made this exactly as written in the crock pot. I think if I omitted the rosemary and squash and added a bit of something else and thickened the broth to compensate for the missing...oh never-mind. That's too much work to re-write a recipe. This just did not make the cut for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Just finished my first bowl and i love the clean flavors of the vegetable which allow the pork to shine thru. I doubled everything but the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Bildstein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Excellent and easy soup. I substituted parsnips for the potatoes. I was going to use turnips too as another reviewer suggested, but there were no good ones at the store. This is great comfort food and good leftover. This recipe made a lot! So we kept enjoying for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pretty good. Made as written, except I cooked the pork for 45 minutes before adding the vegetables to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very tasty dish. I made a few changes that help a lot. First, put the potatoes in when you add the broth instead of in the last step. They need as much time as possible. Second, I browned the meat separately then took it out of the pan and cooked the onions, adding the garlic for the last minute or so before adding them all to the broth. This way, the meat and the garlic don't overcook. I also threw in a little pureed chipotle to give it a little zest. I roasted my own butternut squash to add a depth of flavor from the carmelization. All in all an excellent melding of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbuck1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is very adaptable. I had leftover rotisserie chicken and used that instead of the pork. I also added cauliflower and beet greens that I had on hand. The rest I did as written, and it was wonderful. Even my husband liked it, and he's not big on squash or fruit cooked in main meals. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Made it to the T. Had fresh squash, so I baked it first then added to pot. It needed a lot more seasonings!! I just added to taste. Family really liked it. A nice change from beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The family loved this! I used the recipe as a guideline for making a stew out of leftover pork loin. I didn't have chicken broth or white potatoes, so I started by sauteeing garlic and onion, adding 3 cups of water and the herbs (used more of the herbs than called for in the recipe). Then I added the leftover pork, a small amount of leftover roasted squash, apples, sweet potatoes, carrots, and a dash of ginger. I squeezed a little lemon juice in it just before serving to lift the flavors a bit. Delicious, and even tastier the next day! I'll try it again, starting from scratch this time, as I was pleased with the combination of textures and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States