Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Excellent! I made this tonight in my slow cooker with the pork chunks, red potatoes, onions, baby carrots, and apple (didn't have the squash). It turned out super tender and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Really a fine meal, and the pork was extremely tender!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this when my parents came over for dinner. They really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillywilliehillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This stew was delicious! After sauteeing the onion and garlic w/ the pork, I threw in the carrots, potatoes and some mushrooms and sauteed it for a bit longer. Then I poured in one cup of the chicken broth and scraped up all the brown bits before putting it all in the cooker w/ the rest of the broth and spices. I skipped the butternut squash, only because I didn't have any. Would love to try it next time though. At the end I mixed 2 tbsps of flour and a bit of cold water and stirred that in at the end. It made a savory gravy! Mmm, I'm going back for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My entire family, iincluding my in-laws loved this. I made due with what I had. I pre-heated the pork as suggested, added the broth, onion, rosemary, sage, 2 cubed apples, baby carrots, red pepper, garlic, mushroom and green peppers. Threw it all in the slow cooker and left it for 4 hours. I ended up having to added a little flour and a can of mushroom soup at the end to thicken it a little but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I used this recipe to use up some leftover pork loin. I just added the pork when I added the potatoes and apples. It turned out excellent! (The pork was better in the stew than when I originally cooked it.) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I did, however, make some changes. I used parsnips and turnips instead of butternut squash and potatoes. And it gave it a lot more flavor. I also thickened it at the end with flour/milk. A wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I made this recipe in the crockpot and was rather disappointed in it. The flavor was bland and it just didn't seem like a cohesive dish. Reheated some the next day in the skillet and added additional seasonings to spice it up a bit, served it over couscous and it was much better. I doubt I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I used leftover pork tenderloin, cooked my onion in the same stockpot I planned on cooking the stew in (who wants to wash an extra pot?), & used sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash. I did add some frozen carrot slices & it needed a healthy sprinkle of salt & pepper. On the first bite, I thought this was really good but I grew tired of it quickly. Hubby liked every last bite so maybe it was just me (why I gave it the four stars). Thansk for the recipe, CariCat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is a good basic stew recipe. My husband & I gave it 4 stars, but my son only 3. I added some white wine because I always put wine in stew, and increased the seasonings. The pork came out very tender (I used tenderloin cut into chunks). In addition to the veggies in the recipe, I added some parsnip and turnip because I had them on hand. I also added some flour at the end like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States