Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was looking for a simple pork stew recipe with lots of vegetables and was very happy to find this one. It was very tasty and the apples really did complement it well. I left out the squash and sage as I didn't have any, and used golden delicious apples instead of MacIntosh (again, because they were what I had on hand). I also used cornstarch and water, as others mentioned, to thicken it up a bit. My husband and I both loved it, although I thought it could have maybe used a wee bit more seasoning. I think I will definitely try it with the squash next time, and possibly some other vegetables and spices (maybe some fresh parsley and thyme and some sea salt and fresh ground black pepper). It is a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe didn't use potatoes or carrots but had to add cornstarch to thicken as it was more like a soup when done. It was very yummy and the leftovers the next day were SUPERB!! Stew always tastes better the second day! - in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Delicious! I added about a 1/2-1 cup extra water after the first 20 mins (just before adding the carrots and potatoes). I really love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was a hit at our house. My husband follows a paleo lifestyle and we strive to feed our children that way too. This got "5 stars" from him and we'll definately be making it again. I like some of the others suggestions of using parsnip and mushroom, too. The recipe is great on it's own, but I think I'll include them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Wonderful fall soup/stew. I do prefer using one apple, rather than two. Think it adds just the right touch of sweetness for me. Easy and quick to fix and smells heavenly as it's cooking. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
You could also add brussel sprouts to this for added color, nutrition, and taste ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I was expecting a decent flavor and just picked this as something to do with some of the massive butternut squash I had purchased. The sauce was so flavorful (even though I forgot the garlic, which I'll probably leave out in the future too). I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
A potentially good stew ruined by the inclusion of apple, in my opinion. Strange combination of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my family and we just love it. I used fresh herbs and Ida Red apples rather than macs. I'm on weight watchers and this was a great meal for only 8 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I followed the slow cooker recipe and it was bland. I tried to doctor it up a bit......juice was good after adding lots more spices, my pork was good (I used center cut chops bc that is what I had) The veggies were soft and mushy. I took the meat out and froze the juice to add to soups. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States