Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
The great reviews here led to me making the stew. I followed the recipe and it turned out kind of bland compared to other pork stews that I have made. So I added some allspice and fresh ground nutmeg to this one which made it hold up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I thought this stew was very good but my husband wasn't crazy about it. It's a nice recipe for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Parents 5 stars while Kids 2 stars... we rounded up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Not bad, but not quite what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
very good. i made it mostly as written; used fresh squash and fuji apples, 'cause that's what i had on hand. the 40 minute cooking time is way too short - a minimum of two hours would be more accurate. otherwise, it was good enough that my daughter who doesn't eat pork, and her boyfriend, who doesn't eat fruit and meat together, both polished off their bowlfuls. this made 8 servings, which comes out to 7 pts on ww, for anyone who is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great soup. I dredged the pork in some flour before browning. For us, one apple (fuji) was enough sweetness, though I did include a japanese yam instead of potatoes, carrots, and fresh butternut squash. All those could have contributed to sweetness. I did add kale near the end which I love for the addition of color, nutrition & texture. I left it in the slow cooker on high accidentally for 4-5 hours and it still came out fine. (phew!) I might up the amount of stock next time to have a little more soup to stuff ratio. Ate with quinoa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
GREAT soup! I substituted fresh butternut squash and swapped the pork for chicken and it turned out phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was looking for a simple pork stew recipe with lots of vegetables and was very happy to find this one. It was very tasty and the apples really did complement it well. I left out the squash and sage as I didn't have any, and used golden delicious apples instead of MacIntosh (again, because they were what I had on hand). I also used cornstarch and water, as others mentioned, to thicken it up a bit. My husband and I both loved it, although I thought it could have maybe used a wee bit more seasoning. I think I will definitely try it with the squash next time, and possibly some other vegetables and spices (maybe some fresh parsley and thyme and some sea salt and fresh ground black pepper). It is a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe didn't use potatoes or carrots but had to add cornstarch to thicken as it was more like a soup when done. It was very yummy and the leftovers the next day were SUPERB!! Stew always tastes better the second day! - in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States