Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I used fresh squash and left out the carrots because I didn't have any.Used a combination of Braeburn and Granny Smith apples and left the peels on my potatos cause I like em that way! got mixed reviews from the kids, most gave it a 3.5, none HATED it. I thought it got better and better the more I ate. I am thinking it will be even better tomorrow. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadgrinch8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a delicious healthy one pot meal. It's comforting and is a huge variation from the usual pork dishes I make. I used low-sodium chicken broth so I would imagine it would be even better with regular broth. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This stew was pretty good! I made a couple of changes. I used a copy cat recipe of Prudhommes Poultry Magic on the meat when I browned it and then salt & pepper to taste later. I also used sweet potato instead of white. I hate Macintosh apples so i used Galas that I had in the fridge. I cooked it a little longer than 20 mins after adding the potatoes, squash & carrots. I'll be eating the leftovers today and think it will taste even better! Thanks for a stew that's a change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My husband told me it was the best bowl of soup he's ever had! I personally don't like the texture of the apples but they really add something to the flavor so I wouldn't omit them, but maybe cut them smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring Mount, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This had good flavor! I used fresh cubed squash, leeks instead of onion. It seemed like it was missing something, though. Maybe I will add a chopped bitter green next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Delicious! I doubled it for big family gathering, put it in 5 qt. pan. Didn't have room to double potatoes and apples, but still great. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! I added apple cider in addition to/instead of chicken broth and a few dashes soy sauce. I increased salt a bit, added garlic and onion powders in addition to the fresh garlic & onion. The sage and rosemary really complement this dish well! Make sure you use very fresh spices, as is the case with any recipe. I also used beef chuck roast since I didn't have pork handy and it was awesome. I look forward to trying it with pork. I also used fresh butternut squash, peeled with vegetable peeler and cubed, since that's all I had on hand. Yummers! Oh, and since I like the meat very tender, I simmered the meat with liquids/spices about an hour before adding veggies, then simmered another 1/2 hour. Adding the veggies long after the meat was an excellent idea and helped veggies retain their pretty color and shapes. I cut carrots on the bias for oval shapes instead of cubing, but either would be pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I was not sure about this but tried it and loved it. I don't really like apples in anything other than pie. My husband did not even know there were apples in it. It just gave it such a good taste. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
When I saw that the submitee was from my birth place I just had to try this! Its awesome! Thank you! kia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is a good basic stew recipe. My husband & I gave it 4 stars, but my son only 3. I added some white wine because I always put wine in stew, and increased the seasonings. The pork came out very tender (I used tenderloin cut into chunks). In addition to the veggies in the recipe, I added some parsnip and turnip because I had them on hand. I also added some flour at the end like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I used leftover pork tenderloin, cooked my onion in the same stockpot I planned on cooking the stew in (who wants to wash an extra pot?), & used sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash. I did add some frozen carrot slices & it needed a healthy sprinkle of salt & pepper. On the first bite, I thought this was really good but I grew tired of it quickly. Hubby liked every last bite so maybe it was just me (why I gave it the four stars). Thansk for the recipe, CariCat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States