Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
We loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add 2 tbs of honey at the end for a slightly sweeter finish. It was great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was very good, better than we expected. We didn't end up using quite as much butternut squash or potato as it called for, it seemed like there was enough in the pot so we stopped chopping. We also used fresh rosemary from our garden instead of dried. We all felt that it needed extra salt and pepper but otherwise it was delicious and hearty and perfect for a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this meal for three families and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didn't have any sage or rosemary, so I just seasoned mine with salt and pepper. I added a little apple cider to the pot, and some chopped celery. I really wanted to try one of the 'dinner in a pumpkin' recipes from this site, but I thought the flavors of this stew would go better with the pumpkin than any of the ones in those recipes. I made the stew the night before and simmered it on low for about 1 hour. The next day I used this stew to bake in my pumpkin, and it turned out delicious. I left out the squash and scraped the pumpkin meat into the stew when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! The apples provided just a tinge of sweetness. My hubby absolutely loved this! I used leftover pork roast, so I did not add that to the skillet since it didn't need to be cooked anymore. After simmering, the pork totally fell apart and absorbed all the broth. I've added another 3 cups of broth. That was my fault. I'll follow the recipe starting with raw pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Really just average. I added 1/2 tsp of pepper, worcestshire sauce & more salt. That seemed to compensate for the lacking flavor. I also stirred in some milk and a couple tablespoons of flour at the end like others suggested to thicken it up. Those things brought the recipe up to a 4 star but as it is written it is definitely only a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My wife does not care for cooked carrots or squash so I added extra potato and mushrooms. It was not as attractive as it would have been with the more colorful ingredients, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I would give it a 5 star rating however I didn't have apples or squash so I substituted pitted prunes. It made a nice brown rich gravy. Will make it again with the apples and squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I tried it with chicken breast instead of pork and it turned out well. I put everything in the slow cooker without any precooking. I also used fresh squash instead of frozen. I liked it but next time I'll try pork for more flavor. Made it a second time with pork and it was ok. I used fresh butternut squash and added some corn but I still think it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States