Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I didn't have any squash but this still turned out fantastic. I prepared it in my pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this last night and it was GREAT! The flavors were so complementary of eachother. I used fresh butternut squash, the potatoes, and carrots for more substance. But because I added the extra veggies, I used 4 cups of chicken broth, otherwise there wouldn't have been enough liquid. I simmered the pork chunks in the flavored broth for about 45 minutes and by the time the soup was done, the meat was so tender! The apples do add a nice unexpected flavor to the soup! I highly recommend making this delicious soup. My meat-and-potatoes husband said that he'd like this one again...and that says alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have the squash but I added everything else. I was a little nervous about the apples and how the kids would like it but they didn't seem to mind! I added a little thickening agent to it in the end too make it a little thicker and it was lovely! I'll definatley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe as written, including the potatoes and carrots, and found it to be a wonderful addition to my recipe book. We loved the flavor that the apples added. The only thing that I will change for next time is that I will use unpeeled redskin potatoes (instead of peeled Idaho whites) and add some fresh ground pepper. I served with some fresh, hot dinner rolls. The broth was an excellent "dipper". Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Baerwaldt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I loved this! Savory and sweet. I didn't have the squash- but it was still very tasty. Substituted red onion for a little more punch, then 1c apple cider 2c chicken broth to really bring out that spicy and sweet flavor. Came out a little thin, so I added a corn starch slurry. Definitely will serve up to company before the winter is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My family really enjoyed this stew. The flavor of the butternut and the spices was amazing. And its a recipe you can add to or subtract from and make your own! We loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Made as listed above. Family was able to eat will not make again. Was bland to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Nice stew! I didn't have any butternut squash so I used about 5 potatos instead. I did make this in my slow cooker and cooked on low for about 3 hours and on high for 2 hours. I doubled the spices and also added a lot of pepper. I think next time I'd add salt and pepper to the pork while I'm browning it. Can't wait to try it again when I have the squash. Make sure you do use a nice tart apple. I only had Fuji on hand and could hardly taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed this stew, and I don't usually enjoy stew very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I like the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States