Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
try it with mashed butternut squash. So good, This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I liked this stew alot- healthy and colorful, interesting taste with the added apples. But my family was not as wild about it so I may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made this a couple of days ago but didn't get to have for dinner until last night. It was a really tasty, healthy dinner. My family & I really enjoyed it. I increased the recipe a little since I had a larger cut of meat & used a whole box of chicken broth,etc. When I reheated, I tasted & decided to add about a t. of brown sugar & also grated in a small amt. of nutmeg & sprinkled a little cinnamon. I would definitely make this again. It was good as the recipe was written, but just added my own touches at the end. I also think, as with any soup, it helped the flavors to blend by having it the second day (although this was due to an unexpected circumstance). I loved having something that was this good & also so full of healthy vegetables, fiber & lean meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Awsome stew! My family loved it. I did substitute 2 sweet potatoes for the squash. I also more than doubled the rosemary and sage. Used dry white wine to simmer the meat, garlic, and onion before adding the chicken broth. My son declared this his favorite soup that he could eat every day. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Loved this recipe! I did add the carrots and one large potato, so I used and extra cup of broth. I would like to try sweet potatoes and parsnips in it as others did - those would taste great too. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Always try recipe exactly as printed first before any adjustments. First time to post review. This stew was just "so so" A little bland. next time will peel the apples, recipe did not say to do so, and skin was objectionable. Also will cook potatoes and carrots a while and add squash and apples only for about 10 min, Squash and apples were mushy. Good flavor, but needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linandlarry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Made this for my hubby and I last night and it is outstanding! Can't have regular potatoes so used sweetpotatoes. Thickened it a little with corn starch and served it with a salad. Will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
this was very good. i didn't use the sage (didn't have any) and i used sweet potatoes instead of the squash. i am sure i used more than 1/4 tsp. of the rosemary. i put it into my loose tea holder. i used a granny smith apple, as other said the macintosh was too sweet. i think as a personal preference, the granny smith worked great. i also put in some parsnips. family wasn't overwhelmed with this, but i liked it. so majority rules i suppose. to bad, it was very good. def. worth the try for the rest of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Ouch-what a fiasco! I used 2 fresh yams and used the crockpot (low 3 hours) and it turned into mush with carrot and pork lumps. I think it was too much liquid for the crockpot version.I hadn't peeled the yams so I fished out the peels and finished smashing with a wooden spoon. In order to pretend I was making stoup (stew soup) I added in 1T pico pica, 1 tsp cumin, 1/4 C chardonnay, 2 oz. pimentos and 4 oz green chile. I now have a pretty orange thick pork soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Stir fry vegetables until almost crispy prior to adding chicken broth. Add three T. flour for a heartier stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roberts, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States