Harvest Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Wow! My house smelled great while I was baking this! I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips. This makes a big, heavy, delicious loaf of bread. Thanks, Marsha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This was really good. It was easy to make, and we really enjoyed it. I've made it a couple of times now, and one of them I substituted the chocolate chips with raisins. Very yummy that way too. Made the house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is one of my favorite holiday breads, my mom would make it every year and I would gobble it up. We always wait until the next day to cut it- so it would set. The other thing we do is lighten up the glaze by using milk instead. That way the glaze would not be sticky, and we can wrap it up for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This was a big hit at my Samhain/Halloween party this year! The kids loved it even without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is really good. I haven't made it in several years, I just found the print out of the recipe card when I was looking for something else at home. I'll have to make it again. I do remember it well, though, and remember that I didn't ice it and it was still super good. I also made mini loaves to give as little gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
we have been making this cake for 25 years or so and it is fabulous. one of my all time favorite recipes!! the frosting is so good that I double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I love this recipe! I added a bit more nuts and left out the chocolate chips. The glaze is just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My husband was very excited about this cake, until I told him it had pumpkin in it. Then his face fell. I wasn't looking forward to his reaction to the cake as I'd already suffered criticism over dinner, but when he tasted it he just went crazy. It was like he couldn't stop eating it. We finished over half the loaf that night. It's the best cake I've ever tasted, and I wouldn't change a thing. Oh wait, I did change a couple of things. I used brown sugar instead of white, and left out the chocolate chips and walnuts, because I wanted a more gingerbread-like flavour. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp baking powder as I didn't have any baking soda. I think next time I may add raisins in place of the chocolate chips and walnuts. I think they'd go well with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
superb!!!! I used chocolate chunks instead of chips and the whole loaf disappeared in less than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
We grew up making this for Christmas presents. Freezes very well. Have never made with a frosting -- doesn't need one at all. Fabulous warmed up a bit for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States