Harvest Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Wonderful pumpkin recipe. I made 12 big muffins and used muffin liners instead of making the loaf. I baked for 25 minutes and they were perfect. I like to freeze them and then thaw one out at a time so I can bring them to work for lunch. I didn't add the extra nuts on top or put the glaze on them either and I didn't even miss it. Taste best when heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This was really good. It was easy to make, and we really enjoyed it. I've made it a couple of times now, and one of them I substituted the chocolate chips with raisins. Very yummy that way too. Made the house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Wow! My house smelled great while I was baking this! I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips. This makes a big, heavy, delicious loaf of bread. Thanks, Marsha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My husband was very excited about this cake, until I told him it had pumpkin in it. Then his face fell. I wasn't looking forward to his reaction to the cake as I'd already suffered criticism over dinner, but when he tasted it he just went crazy. It was like he couldn't stop eating it. We finished over half the loaf that night. It's the best cake I've ever tasted, and I wouldn't change a thing. Oh wait, I did change a couple of things. I used brown sugar instead of white, and left out the chocolate chips and walnuts, because I wanted a more gingerbread-like flavour. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp baking powder as I didn't have any baking soda. I think next time I may add raisins in place of the chocolate chips and walnuts. I think they'd go well with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Giving this only four stars because the spice amounts are wrong. Should be 1 tsp. ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. My mother made this for years, recipe came from a pumpkin company. With the correct spice mix, this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Good except to much nutmeg. We used raisings instead of choc chips also. Will make again with less nutmeg, & salt. Would add a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
My house smelled wonderful as this was baking. Have made this several times. I now add a bit more pumpkin and use mini chocolate chips. The larger chips were too much chocolate. Good for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I love this recipe! I added a bit more nuts and left out the chocolate chips. The glaze is just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I may add a little more sugar next time as it wasn't quite sweet enough for me. I prefer pumpkin breads sweeter. Great glaze! Overall, lots of flavor and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
I can't beleive I finally found this! My mom used to make this and I loved it. Thought the recipe was lost. Thank you for sharing it! It is so moist and smells wonderful while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States