Harvest Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Best pumpkin loaf recipe I've ever made. I made this loaf for "coffee hour" at a retirement home. Made two other loaves as well (a banana loaf and an apple loaf) but this was the most popular one. Thanks SO much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This cake has been a holiday tradition in our family for over 35 years. I believe my mother got it in cookbook she obtained while we were stationed in Germany. "Our" recipe includes 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. The chocolate chips in the recipe make the cake just sweet enough to satisfy a sweet tooth. I've given the cake as gifts to co-workers an casual friends during the holidays over the years and it is ALWAYS a big hit. I've never met anyone that didn't really enjoy it. In addition to including the cinnamon into "our" recipe, we also have been known to substitute 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. The substitution doesn't seem to affect the flavor to any measurable degree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Instead of eggs and butter, i just used more pumpkin puree! Plus I used spelt and flaxmeal instead of all-purpose. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Giving this only four stars because the spice amounts are wrong. Should be 1 tsp. ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. My mother made this for years, recipe came from a pumpkin company. With the correct spice mix, this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and the outcome was not quite as moist as one would hope. It also was not as sweet as I would have liked it to be. I am going to experiment with different recipes; as I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This turned out really great. I did health it up a bit and used whole wheat white flour, homemade organic applesauce for half the butter, I halved the sugar and I used organic eggs and pumpkin. I did add a teaspoon each of vanilla and baking powder and I used pecans instead of walnuts because my family does not like walnuts. I actually made these into twelve muffins and just divided the topping evenly between the twelve muffins. These turned out perfect--quite moist and very flavorful even without the excess sugar. EDIT: My husband liked these pretty well, he ate six himself last night. My oldest boy at three for breakfast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We enjoyed this bread, but it is a little dry. I think that there are better pumpkin breads out there that if you simply added chocolate chips to would be better than this. The glaze is awesome and I don't think I would have liked the cake without it. I would agree with a previous reviewer that this is more of a quick bread than a cake. It is, however, a beautiful cake with the glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
We grew up making this for Christmas presents. Freezes very well. Have never made with a frosting -- doesn't need one at all. Fabulous warmed up a bit for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is really good. I haven't made it in several years, I just found the print out of the recipe card when I was looking for something else at home. I'll have to make it again. I do remember it well, though, and remember that I didn't ice it and it was still super good. I also made mini loaves to give as little gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Good recipe! I have made it twice now. The 1st time I made it just as it said, but the second time, I thought I'd try pumpkin pie spice instead of all the spices it called for, the cinnamon added a really nice flavor, I think I'll do it that way from now on. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Prosser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States