Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Too much liquid...after lots of reducing, the flavour was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Second round ... Used fresh beets simmered in orange juice. Cider vinegar, a touch of mustard and thickened at the end with starch. Served topped with caramelized onions and goat cheese - pretty good turned fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Used Fresh Cooked Golden Beets.Let set in fridge a couple of days and even tasted better.Will Make again!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I had some fresh beets to use and no idea what to do. I subbed apple cider vinegar for the white as another reviewer suggested, and tossed ingredients in without measuring b/c I only had a small amount of beets. And it was actually really good! I think it's important to use small baby beets though, with large beets there's no covering up that dirt-beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe was good, but too much vinegar for me. The harvard beets I remember from childhood were a little less tart than these. Having said that, I will say that my husband really liked them and I liked how easy they were to fix. Next time, though, I'm going to cut the vinegar down to 1/3 or even 1/4 cup. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've never cooked beets but this recipe turned out great. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Quick and easy way to dress up canned beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Tastes just like the kind you could buy in a can. I don't know what happened to that canned brand, or why they don't make it any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Awesome! These have a sweet/sour Oriental kind of taste that I just love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosa Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I used more cornstarch than listed - I think the sauce should be very thick and cling to the beets - almost like a thick cheese sauce would to pasta. I also will use a bit less vinegar next time - the ratio to sugar seemed a bit off - the sweet should be the primary taste, then the vinegar - not the other way around. When it is done - but before it cools - I add some butter - gives it more depth. Thanks for listing this recipe - my old early 80's Montgomery Ward Microwave cookbook that I always fixed Harvard Beets from is packed away! Also - I hated to throw away all the extra sauce from this dish - so I combined it with a bunch of other ingredients and made a bbq sauce to bake my country style ribs in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States