Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I do not normally like beets, but these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It is very rare that I see fresh beets in my area. so when I do, I snatch them up for borscht and harvard style beets. I will not used canned -- they are anemic and have no flavour. I use two parts sugar to one part apple cider vinegar, a teaspoon of salt and a 1/2 teaspoon of dillweed, and cook until the roots are tender. I cool, add 2 tsp of cornstarch, mix in without lumps, and then reheat until the brilliant red sauce is as thick as Mamma's strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was great. I needed a simple side dish for salmon, and found a can of beets in the cupboard. A quick search on allrecipes, and voila! Even picky husband enjoyed them. I did reduce the sugar by just a tad. Can't wait to try this recipe with fresh beets, which are a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great recipe, I took the advice of someone else and used 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar. I'm making more tonight because the beets were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Too much liquid...after lots of reducing, the flavour was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Second round ... Used fresh beets simmered in orange juice. Cider vinegar, a touch of mustard and thickened at the end with starch. Served topped with caramelized onions and goat cheese - pretty good turned fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Used Fresh Cooked Golden Beets.Let set in fridge a couple of days and even tasted better.Will Make again!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I had some fresh beets to use and no idea what to do. I subbed apple cider vinegar for the white as another reviewer suggested, and tossed ingredients in without measuring b/c I only had a small amount of beets. And it was actually really good! I think it's important to use small baby beets though, with large beets there's no covering up that dirt-beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe was good, but too much vinegar for me. The harvard beets I remember from childhood were a little less tart than these. Having said that, I will say that my husband really liked them and I liked how easy they were to fix. Next time, though, I'm going to cut the vinegar down to 1/3 or even 1/4 cup. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've never cooked beets but this recipe turned out great. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States