Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I was looking for this recipe to use up some beets from the garden. Very good, reminded me of mom's. Made recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Didn't change a thing.......except fresh beets....they came out perfect.....yum...5 stars from me....thanks grandma....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Crispin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
My Favorite growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Loves these, I went from someone who did not like beets to this being on my menu regularly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather McCammon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My Papa has made these for years and this is my favorite way to eats beets. The sweet with the tang is incredible. Husband doesn't eat beets so I freeze the leftovers in a container in a single layer then use as needed. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
simply a great recipe , whole family loved it, tonight I'm going to add some balsamic vinegar to the sauce, bet its going to be good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I do not normally like beets, but these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It is very rare that I see fresh beets in my area. so when I do, I snatch them up for borscht and harvard style beets. I will not used canned -- they are anemic and have no flavour. I use two parts sugar to one part apple cider vinegar, a teaspoon of salt and a 1/2 teaspoon of dillweed, and cook until the roots are tender. I cool, add 2 tsp of cornstarch, mix in without lumps, and then reheat until the brilliant red sauce is as thick as Mamma's strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was great. I needed a simple side dish for salmon, and found a can of beets in the cupboard. A quick search on allrecipes, and voila! Even picky husband enjoyed them. I did reduce the sugar by just a tad. Can't wait to try this recipe with fresh beets, which are a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great recipe, I took the advice of someone else and used 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar. I'm making more tonight because the beets were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States