Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
It was great...tastes just like the ones I buy at the store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Tastes just like my mom makes but it didn't thicken up at all. Maybe my can of beets had more juice than average...I had to add extra cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
These tasted exactly as they should - sweet and sour... perfect. In order for the sauce to thicken you need to make sure that the liquid comes to a boil; then reduce and simmer for a few minutes. Cornstarch requires the boiling point to activate as a thickener. Thanks for this! Lara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This was excellent! My father asked for more the moment he tried it and he isn't a veggie kind of guy. I did heed the other reviewers re: boiling before simmering. It took a little longer than recommended timeto have the consistency I wanted, but delicious and easy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I thought it could be less sweet but was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Have been looking for a beet recipe that tasted like my grandmother's and mother's. Bingo! This was just wonderful and brought back many wonderful memories. Because I've been watching the carbs I used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 T. of butter to make the sauce glossy. It still tasted great without using real sugar. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Yummy! This is exactly what I was looking for. I've always loved beets anyway, but these were just the right sweet/sour combination. My sauce didn't thicken either, a little more cornstarch would take care of that. I also used the little tiny whole beets instead of the slices and added about 1 Tbsp. of butter right before I put the beets in the sauce. They were so good, Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My husband actually thought the sauce tasted like sweet and sour sauce. I wouldn't use this recipe for beets again, but I might use it to make the sauce for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We have used this recipe many a time, I am making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Beets are an absolute passion with me thanks to my grandparents!I love them-and for me every holiday meal requires harvard beets...beautiful on the plate and deliscious...these cook up fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States