Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was a favorite dish of mine when I was a kid -- one of the few ways I would eat my vegetables. This recipe is very similar, except that it uses sugar where the old family recipe used corn starch. The flavor is great, but I've had trouble getting the sauce to thicken; I'll keep practicing until I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Wonderful and so quick to make. They were delicious. A quick fix for beets from a can. Never knew it would be so easy...I'll make them often, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Mom made these when i was a kid! And that was more than 50 years ago . . . . i added a little orange juice concentrate and a little butter. Also increased cornstarch, per others' reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Tasted fine, but nothing out of this world. Thought syrup would be somewhat thick, but didn't turn out that way. May try again using a little more thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ann Freeman Baskin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I also added just a pinch of cloves - just like mom used to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great beet recipe. I substituted apple cider vinegar instead of white. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I like beets almost any way they're made, but I'd never heard of this - I get the feeling it's a classic recipe. I measured out the exact quantity of beets, since I didn't have cans of the given size. My sauce didn't thicken either (well, maybe a tiny bit). From the reviews, I gather that maybe the sauce should be quite a bit thicker than I obtained. I noted one reviewer's tips on this, and I'll follow them if/when I make this again. That said, the sauce was very tasty - a mildly sweet/sour syrup that accompanied the beets very nicely - a kind of new-and-improved beet juice. Thanks for a nice side dish - I'll put it into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Hello to all teh Allrecipes cooks,I am not a beet eater but my Mom Husband & Daughter-In-Law are.My husband stated he only likes pickled beets but,I used this recipe and everyone liked this,even my husband could not rave enough about them. I did however add about 2tbl.of sour cream to the beets and all said,they really liked the taste it gave to them.My daughter-in-law is a good cook and she wants the recipe. I love having Allrecipes to go to I use it weekly. Thanks for being here when I need help- Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Beets are an absolute passion with me thanks to my grandparents!I love them-and for me every holiday meal requires harvard beets...beautiful on the plate and deliscious...these cook up fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We have used this recipe many a time, I am making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States