Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good recipe. Quick and easy to prepare. Good balance of sweet and sour. Will use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had a microwave Harvard Beets recipe, but I thought I would give this one a go...easy, and delicious...I used some fresh frozen beets, simmered in about a half cup of water till thawed....added the remaining ingredients, and threw in a tablespoon of butter to make them glossy, and they were exactly as I had hoped they would be....so delish....Im having the rest for a before-bed snack tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've never had beets before and I have to say I am now a beet fan. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVirginiaKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I used fresh beets and recipe was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nesconset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Mouthwatering!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maxton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Simple,fresh and has a wonderfull taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was a favorite dish of mine when I was a kid -- one of the few ways I would eat my vegetables. This recipe is very similar, except that it uses sugar where the old family recipe used corn starch. The flavor is great, but I've had trouble getting the sauce to thicken; I'll keep practicing until I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Wonderful and so quick to make. They were delicious. A quick fix for beets from a can. Never knew it would be so easy...I'll make them often, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Mom made these when i was a kid! And that was more than 50 years ago . . . . i added a little orange juice concentrate and a little butter. Also increased cornstarch, per others' reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Tasted fine, but nothing out of this world. Thought syrup would be somewhat thick, but didn't turn out that way. May try again using a little more thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ann Freeman Baskin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States