Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I used more cornstarch than listed - I think the sauce should be very thick and cling to the beets - almost like a thick cheese sauce would to pasta. I also will use a bit less vinegar next time - the ratio to sugar seemed a bit off - the sweet should be the primary taste, then the vinegar - not the other way around. When it is done - but before it cools - I add some butter - gives it more depth. Thanks for listing this recipe - my old early 80's Montgomery Ward Microwave cookbook that I always fixed Harvard Beets from is packed away! Also - I hated to throw away all the extra sauce from this dish - so I combined it with a bunch of other ingredients and made a bbq sauce to bake my country style ribs in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Okay recipe, but I like my sauce #1 a little thicker and #2 a little less vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is a great recipe for beets. Nice sweet and sour sauce. I used fresh beets and "Grandma G" recommendation to cook fresh beets until tender then follow this recipe was very helpful. So was Reciplu suggestion to boil sauce to get the cornstarch to activate. Mine came out perfect. Love it when a recipe comes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum yum, just like mom used to make! I eat them cold without constrarch as a salad topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delish! but there was waaaay too much sauce. Im saving itit in my fridge while I try to figure out what else i can use it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafina Fluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Perfect seasoning. I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 6 Tablespoons of cider vinegar and about half of the beet juice with the tablespoon of cornstarch and no salt, it came out just as my family likes it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good recipe. To use fresh beets, leave whole with 1-2" of top stems attached. Cover with water and simmer until tender (30-40min for 2" beets). Drain and cover with cold water until cool enough to handle; then simply rub the skins off. If skins are stubborn, scrape off with blunt edge of plastic knife. Then proceed with recipe, adding water as needed to adjust taste. May add 1-2 tbsp. butter after completion if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Just what I had a taste for. Reminds me of how my grandmother made them 40 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A blast from the past! Just like momma used to make. I used 2 cans of beets to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I chose this recipe as the one to use for fixing beets for the first time and introducing them to my 3 year old daughter. I thought they were wonderful, but they were a bit too sour for her so I'll reduce the vinegar a bit from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States