Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I had some fresh beets to use and no idea what to do. I subbed apple cider vinegar for the white as another reviewer suggested, and tossed ingredients in without measuring b/c I only had a small amount of beets. And it was actually really good! I think it's important to use small baby beets though, with large beets there's no covering up that dirt-beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe was good, but too much vinegar for me. The harvard beets I remember from childhood were a little less tart than these. Having said that, I will say that my husband really liked them and I liked how easy they were to fix. Next time, though, I'm going to cut the vinegar down to 1/3 or even 1/4 cup. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've never cooked beets but this recipe turned out great. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Quick and easy way to dress up canned beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Tastes just like the kind you could buy in a can. I don't know what happened to that canned brand, or why they don't make it any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Awesome! These have a sweet/sour Oriental kind of taste that I just love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I used more cornstarch than listed - I think the sauce should be very thick and cling to the beets - almost like a thick cheese sauce would to pasta. I also will use a bit less vinegar next time - the ratio to sugar seemed a bit off - the sweet should be the primary taste, then the vinegar - not the other way around. When it is done - but before it cools - I add some butter - gives it more depth. Thanks for listing this recipe - my old early 80's Montgomery Ward Microwave cookbook that I always fixed Harvard Beets from is packed away! Also - I hated to throw away all the extra sauce from this dish - so I combined it with a bunch of other ingredients and made a bbq sauce to bake my country style ribs in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Okay recipe, but I like my sauce #1 a little thicker and #2 a little less vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is a great recipe for beets. Nice sweet and sour sauce. I used fresh beets and "Grandma G" recommendation to cook fresh beets until tender then follow this recipe was very helpful. So was Reciplu suggestion to boil sauce to get the cornstarch to activate. Mine came out perfect. Love it when a recipe comes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum yum, just like mom used to make! I eat them cold without constrarch as a salad topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States