Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love beets and they are so good for you. This was so quick and easy. The only change I made, since I'm off sugar, is that I substituted about 1/3 cup honey instead of sugar. At the end I did add a pat of butter. Sooo good!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessalynnc
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious, even my 1 & 2 year old boys eat these. No modifications needed. I plan to attempt to make these with fresh beets this coming summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
YUM! So easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Very good beet recipe, I will use it again and again. I did however use two tablespoons of cornstarch. As 1 reviewer stated, you need the beet juice to boil in order for the cornstarch to thicken and it does not thicken right away it takes a few minutes and stir frequently. The amount of cornstarch you use depends on the desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used fresh roasted beets and added a cup of water to make up for the juice from the can. Some others commented that they thought this should be sweeter, but I loved the sharp hit of vinegar that hits your nose as you bring the beets close to your face. This tasted just like my mom's. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I brought the sauce to a full boil and let it thicken up. It stuck to the beets well. Using cider vinegar seem like it would be yummy, too! I might try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious and simple! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used fresh beets and guessed at the amount of beet juice to use. It is an amazing recipe. I love the sweet and sour taste. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Louise Moss Snider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved it! Did use melted butter to made a cream out of the corn starch then stirred in the other liquids, be sure to let it come to a boil while stirring to get the corn starch to thicken. Delicious! Made it for my 90 year old mother, she also loved it! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe! I wasn't sure if I even liked beets when I bought a bunch at the farmer's market...I thought I would give them a try. I do like them when prepared this way! Other beet lovers raved over this. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken up. I even let it boil for a bit and that didn't help. I thought maybe once it cooled it would thicken up, but not so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I was looking for this recipe to use up some beets from the garden. Very good, reminded me of mom's. Made recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States